General Lee Tired reporting for naked exercise duty! (day 12)

Posted: January 12, 2011 in Janathon, running

Despite being VERY tired I decided to strip down and go naked for exercise this morning (see picture below). Sometimes we can get very caught up with our material posessions and forget why we run, why we are active. We forget that it feels good just because it does and not because we can tick something off on a chart or see the scales telling us what we want to see (0r ‘hear’ if you’ve got one of those posh ones). 

So today, i stripped off the gadgets, the music, I left the ipod tucked up in bed, took my boy to school, ran to the gym, did 2 hour-long classes Boxercise and Body Conditioning (2! yes, I know) and then a gentle relaxed 1 and a bit mile run in 12min to recover. All without a Garmin or Nike + in sight…. ok ,actually fair enought the exercise classes had a bit a gadgetry to them but I’m not rewriting all this now – it was a good idea for a theme and besides, I’m carrying out a little experiment regarding ‘views’ on this blog dependent on the title chosen.

 It was good to do something a bit different today and I didn’t feel like I was deserting anyone as my wife had taken our little girl off to visit one of her friends, first thing this morning.  I suppose the house would be tidier now if i hadn’t gone, but hey… I’d only make it a mess again.

Chocolates = zero! (so far at least – but for once I’m posting this with more than 10 minutes to go before midnight so who knows!)

Press ups = 35 just done (but I don’t think that’s too bad after everything else this morning)

Weight = …. hang on ….  thud thud thud thud…creak…. thud thud thud thud…. … … … … …  …thud thud thud thud… creak… thud thud thud thud… sorry it was upstairs…  95.1kg! mmm probably mostly dehydration methinks.
image

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    it is quite nice to run without gadgets from time to time, if only to remember how to pace yourself when your gear fails during a race. I like running for so many reasons. without or without gadgets, with company or alone, barefoot or with shoes. track, field, shore. morning light, moon light. glad you enjoyed your morning.

  2. I’ve been listening to my ipod a lot while walking, but sometimes I’ve switched it off and it’s just nice to listen to the world for a change. I’m a little surprised at how much I’m enjoying exercise for its own sake too. Must keep it up when Janathon’s over as it make me feel GOOD! 🙂

  3. fortnightflo says:

    lol – i was expecting a naked picture of you when you said see below…I’m a little disappointed…

Leave a Reply

