Giving up! (Day 27)

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Janathon, running

Only a few days left…

Those who are still in the running to complete the Janathon – run everyday – blog everyday challenge, must surely keep going to the end now, right?

Me… I’m thinking about giving up.

Not giving up Janathon. Crumbs no! I haven’t come this far to chuck it all away now. Besides, I think this is the first January ever that I haven’t had at least one day with a stinking cold.

No…  I’m thinking about what to give up for February.

February is a good month to give stuff up because:

1) It requires a bit of thought and not just some new year’s whim (as with Janathon!)

2) It can help you maintain focus after that initial ‘new start buzz’ you get in the new year

3) If it’s going to be difficult to give something up for a month then february is the shortest one in which to give it a go.

Well, I’m going to give up and start up. 

I’m going to give up

And start up Febulous.

GIVE UP – I won’t go into all the reasons why I’ll give up Facebook. I think it can be great and there are some great people I wouldn’t be in touch with now if it wasn’t for it. But there are some great people on my doorstep too (and even if it is their own fault for not talking a set of keys out with them, I probably ought to let them in rather than update my status!) …. oh, and I intend to read more books.

START UP – Febulous is a new challenge for running community devised by the MarathonTalk guys. Basically you nominate how many weekly runs you’re going to do and the length of your long run, for each week in February.  You then get a consistency score based on your ability to match your goals. I don’t know if there are any prizes or anything but that’s not the point is it? I think most of us Janathoners realised a prize was out of the question after a day or two. Anyone can sign-up by the way. If you love running and you don’t already subscribe to their podcast then it’s well worth a listen.

Good luck to everyone still going with your last few days of exercise and blogging. I only managed a feeble 1 mile again this evening. Way too tired to do much more and I can’t even claim to have made any attempt to do it quickly. 7 miles left to make the century. No problem… I hope.

Chocolates = Zero… again! mmmm… unless you count a Twix… mmm…. I think I should count a Twix. I’ll count a Twix… ok start again…

Chocolates = 1
Press ups = 58 (oh so close!)
Weight = 97.4kg

Comments
  1. jensruns2011 says:

    You had me worried for a minute there! Great post as always. Think it’s good to have a plan for Feb. May look into this Febulous thingy. Good effort on the press-ups. Only 4 runs left…not long now 🙂

    • Couldn’t go giving up now, could I? That would be like running 23 miles of a marathon and then not doing the last few cos it felt a bit hard. I would be gutted if I couldn’t complete it now for any reason.

  2. Need to do something in February now or we’ll get withdrawal symtoms! Well done on getting this far. Impressive stuff. And the press ups. I’m still at 10!

  3. shazruns says:

    Saw the title and thouhgt nooooooooooo he cnat give up now, so phew your not. Would love to do Febulous but having op on eyes and cant run for a week, (darn mixed emotions with this), am loving the MT podcast have listened to first 4 will have to run lots to fit all in. PS Twiz is a biscuit in my eyes

  4. kathryn says:

    I was thinking “oh noooooo” you can’t give up now, not with just a few days left. And then I read your post. What a good idea to give something up.

    My partner has started Tour de Feb: http://tour-de-feb.org/ a cycling challenge for February, so I’ve been co-opted into that. But the main thing I want to do is keep on running and start building my distances up again. And so Febulous sounds perfect. I’m off to investigate.

  5. shazruns says:

    Mars bar definately count all chocolate that one, am going to check out febulous anyway, to see what it is all about, any ideas on March

    • Actually there will be some sort of March thing too on the same MarathonTalk site. They haven’t said what exactly yet, but on the podcast they indicated that something would be happening.

  6. shazruns says:

    Thats good news after a week off will struggle in get back in to it. Must listen to the more recent MT

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Phew glad you’re not giving up! Febulous sounds fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

