Well if everyone else is…

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

… then I might as well set myself a health related lent rule or two as well.

But not out of any religious obligation (though I am a Christian), because it always seems a bit weird to me – to identify with Jesus’s 40 day fast by not having any sweets or [insert other “naughtyfoodthat wedon’treallyneedanyway” here].

And besides (last religious bit of the post coming up) He came that we might be free, not trapped by guilt and fear… So…

1) I can eat and drink anything I like…

2) …as long as I photograph it too!

The idea behind it is simple. If I can be bothered enough to take a photo of whatever I want to eat then I must actually feel like I need it rather than eating with my mountain climbing head on (“because it’s there”).

Also by the end I should have a load of photos that I can group together on a virtual banquet table so I can say to myself “look how much you’ve eaten!” like they do on those health programmes on the telly. I always see that sort of footage and think, “yummy!”.

Oh… And…

3) I can stop my photo food diary after one week or at any point due to boredom, forgetfulness, public embarrassment, or any other reason determined by the postholder – me.

I won’t post everyday’s intake like I have done below but here is Wednesday’s picture list.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

I must add that just by taking the pics I realised at various points that I hadn’t had much to drink so I am already benefitting from increased water uptake 🙂

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    I like the get out clause – very sensible.

  2. jensruns2011 says:

    Like your take on the giving up something for Lent thing.

  3. shazruns says:

    I wonder what the first piece of chocolate photographed will be, maybe we should take bets!

  4. shazruns says:

    club = biscuit I was thinking mars, snickers, twirl, cadbury milk, fruit and nut, yorkie, roses, ferrero rocher, quality street ect etc…………

  5. I hope you are going to post your pictures regularly so we can all use you as an excuse for eating certain things like clubs or creme eggs!

    • I’m not quite sure how it works out that I’d be responsible for you eating a Creme Egg… YOU can’t eat everything that I photograph you know. Is that what you were thinking?
      Oooo Creme Egg… mmmm

  6. Sharon Guy says:

    I dont think I would like to photograph everything I eat/drink tho this morning so far it would only consist of a cup of tea and a bacon butty.

    How about I photograph everything I dream of eating – I just need a quick trip to the chocolate counter!

  7. […] Well if everyone else is… […]

Leave a Reply

