Devonately out of shape

Posted: April 22, 2011 in running

I thought I ought to follow up my last post quickly just to say a couple of things:

1) I have been for a run.

2) ‘NotMuchOfaRunner’ is NOT an ironic name.

Oh my word! Either my Nike+ needs some serious callibration (true)
or the air in Devon is thicker than in Derbyshire (possibly not true)
or the birthday cake and beers have taken their toll (mmmm… Yeah, true)
or I am just well unfit at the moment (also sadly true)

It was only a little two-miler, after dark but enough to blow some cobwebs away and build up quite a sweat thank you very much.

I spent the day on the beach yesterday with my lovely family. I took a photo on a proper camera for once but can’t easily upload that as I don’t have required gubbins with me so here’s a photo of the picture on the camera so you can see the fresh faces of my little ones…

image

A little clearer perhaps…

image

There. You can see my double chin properly in that one.

There’s nothing quite like a day on the beach to make you think you could do with losing a few more tubs of lard is there?

Anyway… this evening was supposed to be a trip up the local steep hill to sing some hymns at the foot of a cross set there tonight and lit up for the folk of my childhood town to see on Good Friday… However, a tired little boy has put paid to that idea as he was supposed to join me but he has been bathed and put to bed instead! I may still go… mmmm…. Hang on…

You still there? Great. Well I made it.

A rather big hill ‘run’ (seriously too steep to run really) I got there for the final part of the service, to meet a few old friends from days gone by, and to stay around for some chill time after folks had gone, to be still and reflect.

image

I’m glad I made the trip out this evening.

Comments
  1. oldbagrunning says:

    🙂

  2. abradypus says:

    Hill top looks very peaceful – have a good Easter

  3. runtezza says:

    Just catching up with your blog — Happy Easter, what lovely photos.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Gorgeous kiddies and I love the pic of the cross, what a wonderful looking place to reflect. Well done on your run – at least you can only get better!

Leave a Reply

