I don’t normally do this kind of thing…

Posted: April 28, 2011 in running
Tags: ,

…but on Easter Monday I entered myself and NotMuchOfaSitStiller into a 2km family run in Wollaton Park, Nottingham.

NotAtAllaRunner did not take part however, and was grateful for NotMuchOfaSleeper requiring some attention I think and she was happy to watch (though in hindsight, she said would have preferred I drive us all for 2 hours to go to Bridlington for the day… I preferred the 20mins into Nottingham, personally!)

Well… the little man did us proud and he completed the 2km course under his own steam, (though not continually running, I admit) in a time of 12 minutes.

Here is is with me on the first hill…

Yeah! Go on my son 🙂

 

And on the last hill…

image

 

And at the end…

Easter egg.... in bag... not...letting...go...

After a further 10 minutes or so, it was my turn. A 10km run. Two marked out laps of the park.

Which is good, because having never actually raced a 10k before it allowed me to take it steady for the first lap and then work out how much I had left and roughly what I could give to the second.
In hindsight, I think I could have paced it out a bit more to be honest, as I made myself a deal on the second lap…

….It was that if I overtook anyone, I would work like Billy.O
(whoever he is… or ‘she’ I suppose if it’s like Billie Piper, but not actually Billie Piper because her surname begins with ‘P’ and not ‘O’)
…anyway, I’d work like Billy.O … to not let them pass me back!

Since I have a rubbish memory of who I had and had not actually overtaken, I just made sure I stayed in front of all those already behind me.

Anyway, I gradually turned the speed up and still had enough for a pretty decent sprint finish at the end:

...gotta be a sprint finish, right?

I’m the super speedy looking one 😉
Excuse the poor quality pic but the original made it look like I was far, far away. To be fair, NotAtAllaRunner did have a little one to battle with on the other arm at point of snapping it, so I’m grateful she managed to take one at all 🙂

I think I like 10k runs.

I think I’ll do another one.

I can cope with pain for 52 mins (which is what it took me) much better than I can cope with it for 4.5 hours (latest marathon) and if I get quicker that’s even less time right? Sod it… let’s skip all this inbetween stuff and I’ll start entering 100m races instead! Right?

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    52 minutes thats awesome. Well done too to NotMuchOfaSitStiller, great run obviously learning by example, great stuff

  2. abradypus says:

    Great times, both of you.

  3. gmomj says:

    That is awesome! Your boy is something else! He must keep you in stitches!

  4. oldbagrunning says:

    wow 52 minutes!! very well done!! and well done on NotMuchOfaSitStiller, 12 mins for 2k is well impressive

  5. Err… Minor error… I remembered the 12 minute bit correctly but failed to attribute the other 52 seconds. Just reviewed the Nike history…
    Still…. No less proud 🙂

  6. NotMuchOfaSitStiller is a superstar! Did he sit still for a bit after that?

    Awesome running on the 10K. I admire your enthusiasm for the distance. It’s all a bit too much of a hurry at the start for my liking – I find it most unnerving.

  7. runtezza says:

    Well done, lad and Dad,

  8. maggie says:

    Well done both of you… I bet Notmuchofasitstiller sat very still whilst snoozing in the car on the way back! Has your achievements managed to convince NoatallaRunner to don her trainers with you both for the next one?!

    I agree about marathons and 10ks… the pain is definitely far more bearable, so if you find any 100m races, do let me know! 🙂

  9. Hels says:

    52 minutes is a great time, well done! And well done to the little man, 12 minues for 2k is brilliant!

  10. […] I don’t normally do this kind of thing… […]

Leave a Reply

