Not really very unsilly

Posted: June 1, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Ok… It’s currently 6am on Wednesday 1st June. The start (and possibly the end) of Juneathon, which, for the unaware (but let’s face it, the only folks reading this ARE likely to be aware… I’ll continue nonetheless) is a month of daily exercise and blogging…

It has also been described as a month of excuses! So I’ll get stuck straight in…

I’m ill.

I’m never ill.

I’ve not had a day off work in about 5 years…

Ok… It helps that I only work 2 days a week, being a ‘stay at home dad’ or whatever the phrase is.

But the point is… I’m ill today.

Coldy, head clouded, dizzy, achey, arse-explodingly (sorry) poorly-sick

Question: How many parts of your body need to ‘run’ to count as ‘A run’ ? Mmmmmm…

So it would be daft of me to run today…Very silly…. I have entered a 10k on Saturday…. Followed by a 3k on the Sunday with my little boy, known on this blog as ‘NotMuchOfaSitStiller’ (you can read his running CV here)… Followed immediately by a 4 mile beach race, also on the Sunday.

If I don’t run today I could just call it ‘tapering’ which would be sensible, right? and it might mean I’m actually moderately recovered by the Saturday…

So you see, it really would be very… very… very… silly to go for a run today… Very silly indeed…

… But just in case I do (well I might feel better after breakfast) here is what I intend to do with this whole Juneathon thing…

I intend to get fit again (so running today would actually be very, very silly)

I intend to lose weight (so being ill is actually helping, but I don’t really mean that kids, that too is a very, very silly thing to say)

image
image
image

I intend to get stronger… by press-upping every OTHER day and following the 100 press-up programme (which I now have as an app on my iPod).

20110601-125228.jpg

And throughout all this, I still hope to have a marriage and a family in 30 days time.

… It’s now a bit later…

20110601-103021.jpg

Oops

20110601-125545.jpg

Very… Very… Silly

Comments
  1. lazybetty says:

    that’s hilarious. well done you. i’m inspired now.

  2. Juneathon makes us do crazy things. Well done for getting out there, don’t kill yourself! Remember, even if you just lift some dumbbells or do some press-ups it still counts!

  3. abradypus says:

    And remember that there’s no minimum distance. Round the block, round the garden, if it includes running shoes and running, it counts. Feel better soon (if only to save the rest of us from the graphic details).

  4. […] is easy, there aren’t the same temptations and life in winter is less fun filled. Then I read not much of a runner ‘s post today and was completely humbled. He’s completely the opposite, dying of fever […]

  5. plustenner says:

    brilliant blog as always! good luck for all the runs on the weekend!

  6. Athena says:

    I’m recalling someone walked in bedroom slippers around the outside of the house, and called it Janathon Done!

    Sorry you’re under the weather.

  7. Fantastic, well done! I love the pic of you and your personal trainer… Get better soon.

  8. jensruns2011 says:

    Fab post! Hope you’re feeling better soon, look forward to reading the rest of your Juneathon posts! 🙂

  9. maggiee says:

    Hope you’re better today… that was a stirling effort… I don’t think I’d have been the same… hang on… no, I too am also that silly!!! 🙂

  10. Hels says:

    No minimum distance, anything is fine, it’s the spirit of it.

    That said, get well soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

