This is all completely made up…

Posted: June 4, 2011 in Juneathon, running

…apart from the bit that says ‘this is all completely made up’, because that bit is true…

and so is that..

but in a minute when I start writing properly… that bit will be made up.

Well anyway, the thing is. I’m not actually here now.
I’m in Bridlington.
Hopefully at this time, at some evening bash/buffet/disco type thing (this is still true at this point by the way) perhaps listening to Tom Williams of Marathon Talk podcast fame.

I’m not sure if I’ll have any WiFi access where I’m staying and I don’t know if I’ll get this post in without setting it up to post beforehand.

So here is my as yet, completely made-up race report on the Bridlinton Festival of Running Yorkshire 10k which I will have run by the time you read this but that I haven’t done at the time of typing….

Doo da doo da dooo da do da doo da do da… etc…

Well I woke up this morning having slept brilliantly. NotMuchOfaSleeper and NotMuchOfaSitStiller slept so well too that we just picked them up and put them into the car and they stayed asleep until we got to Bridlington. NotAtAllaRunner suggested that perhaps she would drive so that I could mentally rehearse my race plan during the journey.

Upon arrival at Bridlington I discovered to my delight that fat-free fish & chips had just been invented and were being handed out for free to help spread the word. What a stroke of luck.

My cold seems to have cleared up well and I no longer had to contemplate the possibility of not even starting. The race itself was completely flat and with a light breeze and some cloud cover, it was the perfect day for a personal best time. And so it turned out… running strong and tall from the off, I ran.. gradually picking up pace in the second half to finish strong with a time of 49 minutes and 59 seconds – result!

There… that’ll have to do. I’m sure it will work out just like that. Now I REALLY need some sleep.
Ooooo! Press ups… completely forgot about them!! Err… they’ll start next week.

Comments
  1. paintedrunner says:

    Enjoy Brid. I love it there. There is a lovely long promenade to run along

  2. plustenner says:

    LOL! Hope it all worked just as you predicted 🙂

    • Do you know what? … Apart from the fish and chips… It just might have…. 🙂 i’ll need to check my chip time but it will be close! I’ll post again tonight. Currently taking notmuchofasleeper out for early morning buggy push and freezing my butt riding off the back of the next door hotel’s free wifi… Shhhh

  3. runorgocrazy says:

    Brilliant, glad it went as planned!

  4. abradypus says:

    Excellent! Shame about the non-appearance of the fat-free chips though.

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Awesome time well done!

Leave a Reply

