Can I kick it?… no not really, I don’t think so, no

Posted: June 6, 2011 in Juneathon, running

  Today I was attacked by a gang of viscious hamsters… with big pointy teeth Grrrr….

I’m joking of course. But it would have been interesting if I was wouldn’t it? ((sigh))

What actually happened was that I went for a run for just a mile because I thought I should and ran past a house we are thinking of viewing but it was getting dark so I couldn’t really check it out properly and so I ran back. ((sigh))

I thought I’d see if I could run my fastest ever mile but after about 1 minute, I decided that “No, I couldn’t” ((sigh))

Oooo… I know! I could tell you a bit more about the weekend’s run as I was really pretty much asleep when I wrote yesterday’s blog and it probably didn’t make much sense…

The last race of the weekend was a 4 mile “beat the clock” beach race in which a race clock was set to count down from 48 minutes to zero.

The course was 2 miles out and then 2 miles back.
Each runner had to try to leave it as late as possible before setting off on the outward journey, but had to make it back to the start/finish before the clock reached zero or their time wouldn’t count.
The last person to leave but who still makes it back within the time, was the winner. Great idea!
In theory, if everyone predicted their own pace well enough, all would finish together. But of course most people were conservative in their estimations and came in well under time.

Not me. Oh no. I was 30 seconds short of the 34:30 that I’d estimated and managed to run slower than I had for the previous day’s 10km race even though this one was shorter. It probably didn’t help my pacing that I’d managed to key 4km instead of 4 miles into my Nike+ application on my ipod. And the sea breeze/gale definately restriced speed on the return leg too. I think I could have done it too, given that I finished and was able to talk, unlike with the 10k in which I really do not feel I could have gone any faster that day.

This has given me a new idea for a potentially life-risking Janathon (oops – how many other folks have done that!?) Juneathon post… it needs a little further thought… so watch this space 🙂

I have also resumed press-upping with today’s effort totalling 120 press ups (21, 25, 21, 21, 32) with a short break inbetween each set. Supposedly, I  should be able to do one-hundred before June is out… but I say pffft. I doubt that very much.

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    The beat the clock race sound fun and what a great idea.

  2. lazybetty says:

    OOH what i would do for a beach run right now…

  3. abradypus says:

    I say pffft to your pffft. You’re a hardcore ‘athoner. 100 pushups is well within your reach.

Leave a Reply

