Needing encouragement

Posted: June 18, 2011 in Juneathon, running

Dear Juneathoners,

Ok. Here’s the deal. It’s 18:45 and I’ve done no proper exercise today.

I have been shopping, carrying a child on my back and somehow 4 bags of chipped bark too, but only for about 20 metres and that really doesn’t count and for once I’m not going to flower it up so that it does.

I need a kick up the rear…. But I’ve not eaten yet and neither have my kids so theirs is cooking now and we will have ours later. One of those pre-packed take-away deals from the supermarket-super-healthy…

…now I KNOW I’m not going to want to run afterwards. I’ll want to watch Kung Fu Panda or that new Penn & Teller magic show or at least Casualty and veg out.

So, at the risk of sounding desperate, will someone PLEASE convince me that this is worth continuing ‘cos if I don’t run today then I’ll end up making excuses for the rest of the month too.

Thanks,

NMOAR

Comments
  1. lazybetty says:

    hello, I’m equally uninspired from time to time and have missed a day or two here and there, there are so many distractions and other stuff going on in June in comparison to January when running every day in the cold was an exciting challenge and blogging was something to look forward to! Why don’t you have a break this eve and make up an entertaining excuse, and set about tomorrow’s exercise with renewed vigour? I’ll be waiting for your blog! go go go!

  2. Rachel B says:

    It’s still light until 10 so watch your movie (we’re watching it too) and get everyone fed soonish. How about a short 20min jog walk round the block at dusk when your food has settled!

  3. abradypus says:

    Don’t listen to the devil woman! Get your trainers on and get out there. Run round the block once, and if you’re still uninspired call it a day. But get out there. Because if you start making excuses, we’ll all start making excuses and that will be the end of Juneathon. You’ll have killed Juneathon. 😥 [too much?]

  4. shazruns says:

    I like to remember when I’m struggling to get out something I read once and it goes something like this ‘You never regret going for a run but always regret not going for one’. think of that nice after run healthy glow feeling and get out before you take away!

  5. Giselle says:

    If you haven’t gone already, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO, GO!!!!!!!!!!!
    You know you’ll feel better if you do.

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Get up off your bum and GO OUT AND RUN!! Everything your kids see you do, the will too so be a good Dad and set them a great example (has that guilted you enough???)

  7. Ok. I’m still sat on my butt but thanks all, for your ‘kind’ words of encouragement. Just having a dose of ‘casual tea’ but I’m eyeing up the trainers in the hallway…

  8. chris says:

    kick kick kick. do some press-ups and crunches and burpees and call it Done. A prison workout will be just enough.

  9. plustenner says:

    make a Fathers’ Day resolution to start tomorrow and do something every day, you would still have exercised 11 days in a row by the end of Juneathon! come on! you can do it!! just a short one tomorrow ..

  10. jogblog says:

    Soooooo, did you run, or did you kill Juneathon?

    • Oh I ran. A feeble run but a run nonetheless. Posted again last night so should be most recent blog post… just didn’t publicise it via Facebook ‘cos it was rubbish 😉

  11. henniemavis says:

    Glad I didn’t see this til now, as I’d have been no good to you at all. I would have been jumping & clapping with enthusiasm to watch Kung Fu Panda. I loved that movie! (Warning: I don’t have kids, but watch kids’ movies… The Incredibles is another fav)

    Why get fitness-motivate oneself when you can watch a fat, pasta-loving panda get a pep-talk instead?

Leave a Reply

