Fish and chips diet

Posted: March 2, 2012 in running, Triathlon
Tags: , , , ,

I read an article a while back about how going to the gym was bad for you. It was a bit of false title really, because the point it went on to make was that folks sometimes go to the gym, chat for 90% of the time, lift a couple of weights and then head off to the kebab house to reward themselves for their workout…
…Well…
… It worked for me in reverse recently.

I was supposed (under the new regime of actually planning meals rather than staring blankly at the fridge each evening) to have prepared a roast dinner, but due to it being a lovely day, I had instead put child 2 in pushchair and after picking up child 1 from school, headed down the park for some bike riding practise… (for him, not me – though maybe I could do with it).
During this time, my wonderful and very hard-working wife returns home from work at a reasonable hour in anticipation of our roast dinner… Oops. So I buy fish and chips that evening which we all enjoyed instead.

At this point I feel a little guilty… I’ve been doing well with my eating (for that read, ‘lack of eating’) and had been losing some weight, so not wanting to spoil things, I put the kids to bed and I :

Biked to the swimming pool (about 15 minutes)
Swam for half an hour (incorporating a now amazing 4 continuous lengths of non-drowning front crawl)*
Biked home
Ran for a mile

I wasn’t really intending to do the run as well but I figured I’d see what it felt like to do all three disciplines one after the other. It actually felt quite good.

*I prefer to consider all my swimming as ‘freestyle’ to be quite frank. You’d understand if you saw it.

Comments
  1. Shaz says:

    That’s it then triathlon sorted well done

  2. plustenner says:

    well done! and that after fish and chips as well 🙂

  3. That’s dedication! Eating fish and chips is one of my main motivators to go training; sadly our local chipper is closed for refurb after a fire 😦

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Oooh good triathlon training!

  5. henniemavis says:

    I love it: Fish & Chips Fry-athlon! Now there’s a fitness challenge I’d gladly commit to weekly!

    As someone just learning to swim in adulthood, I was tickled by your swimming commentary. Well, OK, I’m tickled by most all of your posts… but today’s swimming “freestyle” disclaimer was particularly amusing!

Leave a Reply

