15) tri bars

Posted: June 16, 2012 in Juneathon, not running, Triathlon
Tags: , , , ,

Tri-bars / aero bars… Whatever you want to call them conjure up this sort of image …

20120616-071027.jpg
…Or this…

20120616-071140.jpg

… And therefore sound much more exciting than they are. Which is in fact just this…

20120616-071252.jpg

I bought some on Friday, which I was slightly miffed about cos if I’d bought them on Sunday (father’s day) I could have used this voucher to get £10 off. I had to get them today though ‘cos my mum was visiting and she could look after the little one (a job she relishes as she doesn’t live locally) so I could head off for the day to give them a good try out. Aren’t mums brilliant?!

Thought I was going to have a major accident using them at first. They felt so wrong. I was already formulating plausible sounding reasons as to why I could legitimately return them to Decathlon (they weren’t an expensive set – obviously – but still a pricey way of merely extending the clothes-airing capabilities of my bike).

I did what I call a ‘decent’ ride out of about 20 miles in 1 hour 15min and when I arrived at Matlock I ate a bacon cob and made some adjustments to the bar position and tightened everything to within an inch of its life (I don’t think I fully trusted it before).

On the journey home it was a different story. I don’t know if it was the riding position or that I felt like a speed demon, or whether it was reduced air resistance or what really, but I found I could stay in a higher gear when using the bars and covered the distance home (slightly more uphill) in a time 10 mins quicker. Thinking about it, maybe it was the magic bacon sandwich!

Distance: 38 miles

Time: 2:21:00

Speed: Slower with tri bars on way out… faster with them on way back.

Weight loss: Don’t be silly, of course not.

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    There’s posh. You’re definitely doing another I take it.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    mmmmm green and blacks. They look like proper kit and everything…and I do believe in the magic of bacon!

  3. 7stoneitch says:

    Matlock! We go there sometimes. Anyway am loving your snazzy new clothes airer, looks great 😉

  4. I think I will eat every single item of food mention in this blog post. I’m blaming Father’s Day for having bacon in the house!

    I know nothing about cycling but those bars make your bike look very serious!

    • I’m sorry about placing the temptation there… But I heard dark chocolate actually causes weight loss, prevents cancer and provides you with all nutrients equal to that supplied by your 5 portions of fruit and veg! … and washes up for you after dinner.

  5. Athena says:

    honestly, I prefer the chocolate variety. I have to replace mine, I think. In my last race, the officials required me to remove my tribars since the race was draft-legal. I seem to have come home with one fewer little piece needed to re-install them…. will apply chocolate to soothe my irritation, I think.

Leave a Reply

