21) bloody swimming!

Posted: June 22, 2012 in Juneathon, not running, Triathlon
Tags: , ,

No thursday running for me but I headed to the pool. This time for once taking the car instead of the bike because it was tipping it down and I didn’t want to get wet (isn’t it ironic? Don’t ya think?).
Well the conserved energy (and the fact that I didn’t want to stop before the similarly paced swimmer next to me) must have done some good because I managed a continuous 65 lengths of front crawl in the 20 metre pool in 40 minutes…

… Before noticing the stream of blood from my face!

I finished.
I went home.
I hoped I might find an interesting related picture but to not be too gross I’ll just use this:

20120622-161126.jpg

I also found this article on nose bleeds & swimming actually very useful.

The whole event made me think that this picture…

20120622-160202.jpg
…originally featured in this post, was actually less of a high-tech satellite photograph and more just a normal photograph of a blood trail!
Seriously… As soon as I noticed it, I was straight out of the pool and clearly did not turn around to see if anyone had noticed or anything. I’m going to assume that they did not need to drain the pool or anything and anyway, to dredge up dubious memories of days gone by (like fortnight flo), I’m sure it was more hygienic than what once happened at a leisure pool on a French exchange trip as a teenager*.

*which may or may not have involved a high pressure underwater jet and a speedy retreat to the changing rooms.

Comments
  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Not sure I should ask this…..what happened on the French exchange trip?

    • I’m not sure you should ask either…
      Have you ever tried stoping one of those water jets? You need to use all your weight.

      I’m trying to clear it out completely from the annals of history… So to speak. Posting it here won’t help, mind you.

      Let’s just say the swimming expedition was a washout.

  2. abradypus says:

    Just as well the shark wasn’t in the pool with you if there was as much blood as that 😉

  3. Athena says:

    this post leaves so many unanswered questions. eagerly waiting for the next installment.

  4. Yes, I have more questions than answers now. Great swimming though.

  5. fortnightflo says:

    LOL – great picture, fish are friends not food! Nosebleeds whilst exercising are common apprently…thats what I keep being told anyway. Oh, and I really want to hear more about this french exchange trip!

Leave a Reply

