26) pedigree chump

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Juneathon, not running
Tags: , , ,

Well… Following the resounding success of the cycling shorts giveaway competition thing (for which I shall draw a winner at the end of June – which is very easy if there’s only one name), I shall now resume normal service of random ramblings…

My Tuesday running partner informed me of his chesty cough at the 11th hour today so we cancelled our proposed meet up.

I attempted to convince him that when he feels better, he ought to really consider more than 20 minutes exercise every 2 weeks if he was serious about trying to get fit again.
He agreed.
I felt like I was having a go.
I didn’t mean to.
Maybe I did really.
I actually do want to help.
We’ll see what happens next week.
I think I said that last week.

Anyway… He’s not the chump. I am. Read on.

I went out for a bike ride instead, using the Samsung Hope Relay app.
If you haven’t already downloaded this for your smart phone then do consider it. Basically for every mile you run (I’ll come back to this in a minute) they donate £1 to charity, up to a maximum of £26 a day. Seems good to me.

Now it was my understanding that you could also cycle these miles too but when I got home the app told me I ‘ran too fast’ and that it had a maximum limit of 25 mph (I guess so people don’t drive around to build up the miles) so my 15 miles did not become £15 on this occasion (though I was quite pleased with my apparent riding speed).

This is still not why I’m a chump though.

During my bike ride I called in a few people where I used to live and perhaps foolishly accompanied one to the local public house for a ‘swift pint‘…

20120627-124401.jpg

CHUMP!

Well THAT’S not going to help either my weight-loss or my balance is it now?

I got home ok.

.

.

.

Before I go, I’d like to just say a big “Thank You” to lazybetty too – a lapsed ‘athaner who hasn’t blogged herself now for a while but who has been most generous following a couple my recent posts. Thank you 🙂

Comments
  1. henniemavis says:

    If one were going to be chumped at all, being chumped by a nice beer w/a friend is a fabulous way to go… as opposed to say, being swindled out of one’s life savings? When you look at it that way, it’s only a beer 🙂

Leave a Reply

