Keeping it going

Posted: July 6, 2012 in not running, running
Tags: , , ,

Well, I think I have done more exercise since Juneathon finished than during it.

This is mostly due to a very poorly car which has finally given up on me. I could have it worked on but I know there are numerous expensive fixes needed too so it really isn’t worth it.

I work about 18 miles away. Biking there took me just over an hour when I first did it.
On Monday last week, it took 45 minutes.
On Tuesday last week it would have taken 45 minutes… except for getting a flat tyre 3 miles from work and I opted to run the last bit with the bike rather than risk an imperfect puncture repair and find myself needing to run anyway.

The latter part of the week is my proper job (being daddy) and since our house move (just before Christmas) I’ve had to take NotMuchOfaSitStiller into school about 3 miles away because we can ‘t get him into our nearest one.
Normally = a quick car ride.
Now = bus one way with both kids and run the other way with just one (repeated at collection time).
So that’s 6 miles without thinking about it.

Today it was raining BIG TIME…
And I loved it!

20120706-124658.jpg

Bring on those puddles!

(I love those strange looks you get from folks who think you’re a nutter as you bound on by with a huge grin on your face!)

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    They are impressive puddles! And impressive mileage.

  2. plustenner says:

    and bet notmuchofasleeper loves it too!

  3. henniemavis says:

    I love that you are incorporating “self-propelled transportation” into your days, your weeks! Wish more people would do this. We have more opportunity to experience ourselves & our environment that way. We get better opportunity to interact with each other. And we get in better health. Win, win, win! Yeah, it’s time consuming — but hey, our lives are made of time, right? There’s always plenty, but arranging it… ah, there’s the rub. What a great job you do arranging your time! Role model. Just sayin’

    • Genuinely embarrassed, reading your comment. There is nothing about my life that is organised and I dread the day my kids realise I’m really a bit of a plonker. I guess I just have to enjoy it til then, huh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

