Flux

Posted: October 27, 2012 in running
Tags: , ,

Please feel free to add your own, blues-style “da da da da dum” after each of the following lines

I woke up this morning…

… There’s snow on the car…

Want to bike to a parkrun…

…but it’s really quite far.

Then I figure, “I’m hardcore!”…

…I’m not yet that old…

…I can cycle 12 miles there…

It can’t be that cold!!

But Oooooh oooo Ohhhhh I got the blues…
Yeah I got those extremity blues!

Right! That’s enough of that!
I’ve not been well recently but actually feeling fine this weekend and it’s half-term so as I didn’t have to do normal Saturday morning dad stuff, I did Colwick parkrun.

Feeling I could go for a PB, I contemplated the car journey to get there, but I went for the hand-freezing, toe-numbing, pneumonia inducing option of the bike instead.

Upon near arrival, I helpfully directed 3 lost looking parkrun newbie student-looking types in completely the wrong direction* and made my own way to the start… just in time for the off…

20121027-232711.jpg (photo courtesy of @glennhancock via twitter – reproduced entirely without permission but if you put it up on twitter it’s fair game right?)

Yes, in time for the off…
…But not in time to regain the necessary circulation and be able to feel my feet again. I think this was actually a blessing though as feeling returned on the second lap, at which point I could then notice the pain.

I didn’t hang around at the end, so I said some “thank you”s to the lovely volunteer types and headed off home for my breakfast.

Incidentally… Being ill and then not eating breakfast and doing a decent bike ride and parkrun, does wonders for a weight-loss graph…

20121027-233130.jpg
…but is unrealistic compared with the pre-activity graph…

20121027-233332.jpg
…and most certainly unrealistic compared with the post-exercise, ‘I deserve to eat everything in the house because I did all that exercise today’ graph…

20121027-233545.jpg

*The students did make it in the end. I saw them at the finish.

Oh and I don’t think I mentioned… I got a PB by 3 seconds.

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    ‘Eating everything in house’ very well deserved after all it was very cold and you got a PB.

  2. Chris says:

    well done for the PB and quite impressive graphs! I’ve posted more foot photos….
    chris

  3. plustenner says:

    woohoo! new pb – brilliant

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Yippeee on the PB not so good on the weight loss but theres always tomorrow!

  5. Sarah F says:

    Well done on new PB! Love the song at the start!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

