Who would do such a thing?! (…to the terrible thing)

Posted: January 30, 2013 in Janathon, not running, running
Tags: ,

Just to cover the whole ‘running’ thing that this blog is supposed to be about… I ran. I have run often. I have just not blogged about it and so won’t even mention the word ‘janathon’ as i am not worthy to associate myself with the hardcore bloggers that have.
I need to run about 15 miles more in the next two days to make it to 100 miles in january at which point, I shall bore you with my stats…
But for now…back to the randomness…

I was hoping to string out this whole apostrophe indignation thing for a while really as it gives
me something to write about when my imagination fails or my concentration doesn’t allow me to… Ooo look I’ve got some bellybutton fluff!…

where was I?… Oh yes, the apostrophe thing. Well, I have been stopped in my tracks, as it would appear, and the evidence below will reveal, that the owners of the terrible thing (exhibit A) have clearly seen the errors of their ways and removed the offending article themselves* (exhibit B).

image

Exhibit A

image

Exhibit B

For this, I thank them.
It is not often that people accept that they have made a mistake and do what they can to rectify it, thus allowing ‘normal’ people like me to get on happily with their lives and be able once more to walk past their signs without inwardly (and sometimes outwardly) cringing at the fact that it’s on a school run and everything.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

*either that or someone has, say, perhaps in the dead of night, gone for a stealthy ninja run in black tights and no reflective gear maybe, to avoid the possibility of the occasional car picking out their presence, and then they might have, say, nipped under the first wire fence and used some form of white correction fluid of some kind or other on the sign so not to allow the poor children passing by it to have their minds corrupted by inappropriate apostrophe usage…
… Maybe.

Comments
  1. Shaman says:

    This post made me happy.

  2. Well whoever did such a thing (wink wink) well done to them!

  3. Tubontherun says:

    That person (whoever they are…) have done humankind a great service. GrammarMan has saved impressionable minds from intensely infuriating ignorances that have the misfortune to grace our language (I’m silently praying that I haven’t committed spelling or grammatical faux pas in this comment).

  4. shazruns says:

    Wondered how long it would be till u succumbed to the calling of the giant pot to tippex

  5. plustenner says:

    notmuchofarunner ‘Ninja’ 😛

  6. Mark says:

    lol, I’ll take it that you know and frequent the blog of unnecessary quotation marks?

    Just in case, here it is: http://www.unnecessaryquotes.com/

    I think you’ll enjoy it

  7. […] Not much of a runner – Slayer of the Terrible Thing […]

  8. […] wait to read*.  Like Cake of Good Hope.  Or Something about Rowing.  Or College at Thirty.  Or Not Much of a Runner.  Or Bad […]

  9. […] An early one involving a local sign and searching for beavers on the internet ______ THE sign continues to mock me + a race I don’t enter due to poor use of English ______ The grammar ninja strikes at that sign! […]

Leave a Reply

