No Great Balls of Fire

Posted: February 7, 2013 in running
Tags: , , , ,

If you need to, watch this:

Then sing the following in some sort of approximation to the original.

I love to run on all sorts of terrain,
But track or road, I experience pain,
It’s not a, thrill
It’s gonna kill!
Goodness gracious great balls of fire.

My thighs will rub so it makes me run funny,
Creating heat so it’s hotter than sunny
Do I smell smoke?
This ain’t a joke…
Goodness gracious great balls of fire!

This is maybe…
Mmmmm… not good
Sometimes daily…
Well I don’t run like a runner should.
On your marks!
Friction Sparks!
I’ll tell the world that it smarts smarts smarts smarts.

Tights look funny, oh they have me in creases,
But when I used them how they sooooothed my pieces
I look a tool
But keeping cool
Goodness gracious no balls of fire!

You didn’t actually sing it did you?
You just did it quietly in your head.
It’s much more fun if you actually sing it, you know.
Oh well, suit yourself.

I am a convert to running tights. At least today I am…

I’d just driven home from packing away after a toddler group I help run each week, only to discover I’d left my bag (including my wallet) at the group. After a spot of lunch for me and ‘Notmuchofasleeper’ I popped her in the pushchair and off we went via the tracks and canal paths and big hills for a round trip of 8 miles to fetch my bag – wearing my cheapo pair of Decathlon own-brand running tights.

I may not have been so bold without the portable modesty shield that is running with a pushchair but still…

…No rubbing. No chafing. No need for me really to have gone into quite so much personal detail about my man-parts.

Comments
  1. Tubontherun says:

    Matt can’t quite understand why I’ve started randomly laughing at the computer (again). You could have picked the Quo version though ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. henniemavis says:

    HA! I have a better idea: chop ’em off. It’s quick, it’s easy & you can wear anything painfree after that… once the initial pain wears off, of course. You know, like pulling a tooth. Ah, how sleek & freeing this solution would be! Think about it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. shazruns says:

    Sure hm suggestion would be less painful than child birth I say give it a go!

  4. Shaman says:

    Hilarious!
    Most male runners here in Sweden wear tights, and they don’t seem to care so much about modesty…but those who do care often wear shorts over their tights. Just an idea ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Nooooooo running tights on men don’t work!!!

  6. plustenner says:

    haha! i did actually sing it – out loud, much to my dog’s amusement ๐Ÿ™‚
    oooh can I see the nooooooo running tights??

Leave a Reply

