Missing out…

Posted: March 26, 2013 in London Marathon, running, Triathlon
Tags: , , , ,

Currently curled up on the sofa feeling a bit worse for wear.
I had taken today off work anyway, using up the last of my annual leave, and now, typically I’m spending it very unproductively.

If I had actually eaten anything then… well… let’s not go there right now.
In case silent accusations are afoot, I must clarify that this is by no means self-inflicted. So you are allowed to feel a bit sorry for me if you like.
(too needy?… Mmmm)

I have been enjoying reading lots of blogs, especially as it’s now reaching crunch time for folks training for VLM.ย  Some nervous, some exited, some loving it, some ill or injured and wondering if they’ll recover in time… and then there’s me, not feeling any of those things and not sure whether I miss it or not.

You know, I think I do.

So… To decide what?

I still have a mad idea to do an Ironman triathlon before I’m 40 but I think a few intermediate steps are required first.
I have been trying to swim twice a week at my local pool and the other day I managed to get down there early and complete over 2 miles in 1.5 hours.
The swim aspect of the triathlon was what had worried me most but I am slowly becoming more confident with it.
Open water is another matter though so maybe an Olympic distance tri? There’s one in Doncaster later this year.

Cycling… Well that’s as easy as riding a bike isn’t it?

Running… Mmmm… This really, really REALLY would be greatly improved if I needed to carry a stone or so less around a course.

Now I haven’t written anything here recently as I like to record some sort of progress. I had managed to get down to below 90kg in January but have struggled to return to that again.
I think I shall check in a little more regularly now though. Even if nobody reads it. Just to keep track of what is working and what isn’t.

I have about 4 years before I’m 40. That’s an awful lot of waffle between now and then!

image

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    I found a half iron distance to be a nice substitute. Exciting enough, long enough, and only a half marathon at the end. I thought i wanted to do an ironman until i ran a marathon. I need to improve my running and get leaner so I don’t have to carry so much beef over the course.

    To build your swim confidence, consider forming a team and do an Olympic distance as a trio. Regardless, register for something and then get out there! You will have a lot of fun.
    Chris

  2. shazruns says:

    Dear youngster, sorry to hear you are not so well, but pleased that you will be blogging more look forward to reading what you and the not much crew are up too!

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Good to see you back. Why don’t you try a sprint or super sprint distance 1st?

  4. abradypus says:

    If your feeling well enough too pick up on typos and grammatical error’s then you probably dont need much sympathy ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for the triathlon, just imagine that the sign at the finish has a stray apostrophe and carry tippex.

  5. Sarah F says:

    4 years until 40 … maybe 4 triathlons booked in …! ๐Ÿ™‚ Do it! Do it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

