Getting better all the time

Posted: May 16, 2013 in running, Triathlon
Tags: , ,

So here’s the deal…

I have entered, trained for, and still plan to do, a triathlon this Sunday morning.

But since Saturday last week I have not been well… Sore throat, cough, temperature, nose-bleed, etc, (you know the kind of thing).
Currently, I can’t stop coughing.

I have never had a DNS (did not start) at a race before.
I have never had a DNF (did not finish) either.
If I knew I was going to DNF then, I guess actually to be a DNS may be wise.
Due to anticipated nights of ‘Did Not Sleep’ I have relegated myself (yes… myself… not forced by my wife…) to sleep downstairs for a few nights.

If it turns out I’m more ill than I think though, due to faulty brain activity (akin to that experienced by those suffering extreme hypothermia who proceed to remove their clothes…) then my DNS could be a ‘Did Not Swim’ … Or worse – the DNF could be a ‘Did Not Float’! I will perhaps set up a book for various outcomes closer to the day.

As there is no way to get money back or transfer my place, I might as well leave it until Sunday morning to decide fully, but in an attempt to be forward planning and inject some scientific element into the whole thing…

… I’ve done a graph.

20130516-222507.jpg

As can be seen by the projection of stars, if current trends continue*, I shall be almost 100% by Sunday.

Marvellous!

.

.

.
*remember, wellness can go down as well as up. Past results cannot be relied upon as indicative of future performance.
Your swimming pool may be at risk if you cannot maintain the integrity blood vessels within nasal passages.

Comments
  1. Sharon says:

    You will be fine, that man flu will be long gone by then!

  2. A graph! How lovely. Even if a mucus- related one.

    Get well soon. At least your snot-rockets will be stellar.

  3. Sara says:

    Hi there!

    I would be very interested in having you submit a story to our website http://vivathlete.com talking about your experience in preparing and training for a triathlon.

    Our website is geared towards triathletes like yourself. Let me know if you’d be interested. Please contact me at editor@vivathlete(dot)com

    • I don’t think you would really :-/
      I have done two triathlons only and I suspect this was an automated message to anyone who tags ‘triathlon’ in their blog post, intended to redirect folks to your website, rather than actually engage them for a ‘story’.
      I may be wrong, though… if I am, apologies…if that’s the case let me know below.

  4. plustenner says:

    Hope it went well!!

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Brilliant graphage!

Leave a Reply

