5 second sprint (3Jun’13)

Posted: June 3, 2013 in Juneathon, running
Tags:

I’m at my tennis club. Well not mine as such. Although, as it’s owned by the members, I suppose it is….except I haven’t yet paid this year, so it isn’t.

Anyway, point is… I’m here and nobody else is yet. So I’m starting my blog post.

I am trying to actually run everyday this June as well as maybe do other stuff too, so I will go out for a few miles later, in honour of those who can’t.
Thing is… I haven’t run yet… I haven’t even started playing tennis yet…. So I have nothing to write…

…so I shall do that thing that i do when during juneathons when i can’t think what else to do…

…this…

A 5 second sprint.

Instructions:

Take photo of running area – in my case, a tennis court (taken with my camera phone propped up on my jumper)…

image

Set timer on camera phone for 5 seconds….

Push the button…

Run!

*Click*

image

That’s me. That dark blob along the line of the courts.

***UPDATE***
Since doing the little sprint. 4 more people have arrived for tennis. This is annoying. 5 people is an annoying number of people for tennis. But it’s not as annoying as 1. That’s very annoying. This is still quite annoying though. But it does mean I can volunteer to sit off a game and post this now.

Yesterday’s activity: weights in the morning and a short run around the estate at silly o’clock in the evening

Today’s activity: 5 second sprint. 3 hours of tennis. (+ Planned run later)

Comments
  1. Woah, you ran far in 5 seconds!

  2. shazruns says:

    You sure thats you? Is this your version of baseline technology?

  3. plustenner says:

    hawkeye??

  4. Brilliant idea – may have to do that myself 🙂

  5. I’m impressed – both by the ingenuity of the blog post and the distance you cover in 5 seconds! http://queenoficeni.blogspot.co.uk/

  6. I love this idea. It could be extended to all manner of activities. How far can you run/cycle/crawl/hop/cartwheel away from the camera in 5 seconds? On second thoughts the crawl may not be the most flattering angle…

  7. abradypus says:

    I’d try it, but knowing my luck the camera would take the picture just as got mugged by a tree root and went splat.

  8. RubySneakers says:

    Great idea! You’re a bit speedy – I think I’d only make it to that first line in 5 seconds. *points to the white line in question*

Leave a Reply

