Pear-Shaped (16Jun’13)

Posted: June 16, 2013 in Juneathon, not running
Tags: ,

It’s all gone a bit pear-shaped this evening…

20130616-231834.jpg

I know.

I know that’s a mango.

I knew anyway, but even if I didn’t, it says ‘mango’ on it, look…

20130616-233916.jpg

I didn’t have a pear.
(Besides, it demonstrates just how pear-shaped things are if my visual aid is not even the required shape of pearness.)

I had a great post planned for today.

Brilliant it was.

Following on from yesterday’s one about needing to do things differently, it was going to be all motivational and rousing.

It was going to be all ‘make a stand’ and ‘go get it tiger!’ Grrrrrr!
It was going to be all this,

‘you can’t keep doing the same thing and expect different results’

kind of stuff. Oh yes, it was to be a masterpiece.

Oh, but it wasn’t going to be just words. No, no, no. I was going to do things differently, starting this evening…

…I had planned to run backwards into the sunset with a rubber duck gaffa-taped to my head whilst reciting Shakespeare.

Don’t think I was kidding.

I figured that was different enough to kickstart some sort of serious weight loss.

That didn’t happen though.

In the end, I have found myself proof-reading a couple of hundred (only a slight exaggeration) reports for TheHardestWorkingWomanIKnow, which, for a self-confessed apostrophe freak like me, was actually strangely satisfying.

I have spent a wonderful day with my lovely children who have proper tired me out…but I haven’t run at all.

It’s not impossible, but training was so much easier pre-kids.

It has been suggested by abradypus after yesterday’s post, that I write a best-seller on ‘training with toddlers’.
I’m working on it.

For tonight – a minute of press-ups again.

(But I shall be singing the theme tune to neighbours at the same time… Just to be different)

Comments
  1. plustenner says:

    please please please ask someone to video you running backwards into the sunset with a rubber duck gaffa-taped to my head whilst reciting Shakespeare. youtube goes viral
    well, your ‘you can’t keep doing the same thing and expect different results’ comment has inspired me to go and look at advanced (gulp) training plans for my next half marathon and actually consider doing hills, tempo runs, fartleks and all those wonderful training techniques which have only been words up to now

  2. Video proof of you press upping to the neighbours theme! Proof or it didn’t happen!!

    • Ah… But if I filmed it, having not filmed it the first time, it would require me doing it again and that would be doing something the same, not something different and I would instantly gain a stone in weight as a result.

Leave a Reply

