The bench of destiny (Robin Hood 2 of 12)

Posted: July 21, 2013 in Marathon, running
Tags: , , ,

I have run past this bench at night….

20130721-231506.jpg

I have run past it as the sun is going down…
20130721-231528.jpg

…and this morning, I ran past it before most people were awake…
image

I have not yet sat in it.

But I will.

In about 10 weeks.

Once I have finished my training.

It will be like Rocky’s steps…

Like Daniel son’s ‘Crane kick’…

Like Tom Cruise’s ‘I want the truth’ ‘you can’t handle the truth’ court scene in ‘a few good men’.

Like that cute penguin doing his tappy-tap dance in that movie with the animated penguins that dance, well most of them sing, but he dances because he sounds like a strangled cat when he sings and because of that is excluded by most of the penguin community despite his clearly outstanding dancing talents which later prove instrumental in saving the entire penguin community!
(You don’t have to watch that one now.)

I have been good at doing my speed work.
I have been good at doing my hill sessions
I have been good at thinking clearly and sensibly about the food that passes my lips

I ran ten miles this morning before breakfast. The idea being that it MUST…MUST…SURELY burn some fat at least. I also figure it’s a good way to mimic the feeling of ‘the wall’ because I run out of energy really pretty quickly, relatively speaking. I was certainly a fair bit slower than I’d normally expect for this distance.

I even refrained from eating the entire contents of the fridge upon my return. Yes, I am taking this whole marathon thing THAT seriously.

So, no folks, I will not be sitting on that bench until I have earned the right to do so*.

*DISCLAIMER: I might, actually… if I get tired and stuff. I was just being all dramatic an’ that, really.

Comments
  1. TartanJogger says:

    Ha- you’re much more disciplined than I could ever be- that bench is just too tempting, especially after 10 miles or so!

  2. Athena says:

    If you sit on the bench, drink in that lovely view, the fridge might not call your name as loudly.

  3. plustenner says:

    nice bench 🙂

  4. abradypus says:

    A bench which will make a worthy prize. Save it for later.

  5. […] Here’s my favourite ‘you-have-to-earn-it-to-sit-on-it’ bench which has featured before on this blog… […]

Leave a Reply

