Body Talk (Robin Hood 4 of 12)

Posted: August 6, 2013 in Marathon, running
Tags: , , , ,

20130806-235143.jpg

Right everyone… Settle down… Apologies that I’m a bit late with this past week’s appraisal but I’m glad that so many of you have all made it here today.

Quick roll call:

Back? Yes
Shoulders? Yes
Legs? Yes
Muffin top? Yes. Oh… You’re still here are you? I thought you were moving on? No? Yes? You thought you’d hang around for a bit longer did you? Right! Please yourself!
Knees? Yes
Ankles? Yes
Feet? Yes
Blisters?
Blisters?…
No Blisters?… Ok… Absent.
Mojo? Yes
Brain? Yes
Heart? Yes

Excellent!

Right…First of all, I’d like to start with a big ‘WELL DONE’. You can all be very proud of yourselves for making it through last week. It was a tough week with some good sessions and it could have all been very different after the poor week we all had before, so well done again for cracking on with it. Give Back a pat would you, somebodypart… Thanks.

Brain, you did well. Rallied us all into action. Didn’t back out. Stayed committed. Good! Perhaps some reflection on your idea to ‘run a half-marathon without any breakfast in an attempt to simulate energy depletion’ would be in order. The theory sounds good but maybe it’s worth at least googling it instead of just ‘going for it on a whim’ eh? Also, Muffin top here will attest to the fact that it had no effect on net weight-loss this week did it? Mmmm?

Legs… Awesome work! Well done. Fast. Solid work. Didn’t overdo it. Nice one!

Ankles… Don’t take this the wrong way… (I know you twist things sometimes and I don’t want that to happen here)…Don’t try to be something you’re not. Don’t be a hero. If you’re hurting, tell us. Don’t keep it to yourself all day and then whine constantly the day after that nobody was paying attention to you. We are ALL important and ALL will be listened to, ok?*

Mojo, Heart… It’s been great having you back. We missed you.

Great work, all of you. We’re not there yet. Plenty to do. But have a day off, recover well, and then we’re back on it for more of the same.

.

.

.

*apart from ‘annoying left foot niggle‘ …we don’t talk about him.

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    *Definitely* don’t talk about annoying left foot niggles!

  2. I’m your annoying left foot niggle…….don’t ignore me or I’ll be back!

    • La la, la la la la la la la,la la la…

      (I’m covering my ears like a kid. Your words mean nothing, I’ll go laa laa laa)

      (of course, I know you’re right really but it made no difference giving it a week or so off so I’m going for the ‘let’s see if you actually get worse’ option :-/ )

  3. Athena says:

    could be fun to run on empty. but race? only if you’ve trained for it. I kinda like gel at the start and then at 7, 14, 20 km. If I’m cruising to the finish, then I skip the 20 km.

  4. TartanJogger says:

    Brilliant! This post really made me laugh!

  5. Sarah F says:

    Love this post! But … eek!! Running a half marathon without breakfast?! Mad!

  6. plustenner says:

    well done on the half marathon!

  7. kirstie256 says:

    I’m doing the Robin Hood Half too but I’ll definitely be having breakfast.

Leave a Reply

