Dinosaur (Robin Hood 5 of 12)

Posted: August 11, 2013 in Marathon, running
Tags: , ,

Gah… The problem with naming these ‘countdown to the Nottingham Marathon’ posts with (number of 12) after the title is that I feel compelled to write something even when no inspiration is forthcoming. So… I will jabber, you will read, nobody will have enhanced their life in anyway and we shall all continue about our routines as if this next few minutes never existed.

Normal service has resumed after the previously good week of everything working properly.

I don’t really know what happened this week. It has whizzed by faster than… errr… well… faster than me anyway, though that’s not hard, especially when I have not been following my training diary strictly when it says ‘run fast stuff repeatedly with some short breaks inbetween’.

To be fair on myself, some things have gone better for me this week.
E.g. When everything is going well, those ‘REST’ days on the plan are really annoying and you wish they weren’t there. When things are going badly, they are much easier.
BOOM! Much easier this week.

Yesterday, being Saturday, was parkrun day. I say that as if I do it all the time. I don’t. Usually I take my eldest child, NotMuchOfaSitStiller, to tennis lessons on a Saturday morning. BUT… summer holidays = no tennis = availability to go to parkrun.
However, due to my infrequency of being able to go along, and that I’d seen a plea from the organisers for volunteers to assist that week, I ended up taking the boy along to help me be timekeeper instead. Thus no running.

I picked up some of those adidas boost shoe-type things yesterday too. A pair that the running shop allow folks to test-run, so dramatically reduced in price. I thought it was worth a try. Tested them out this morning on a 7 mile run. It should have been longer but I thought I would explore a bit and took a different path off from my usual canal route and it turned out to be a MASSIVE short-cut!
Useful if I’d been desperate for the toilet.
Less useful if I needed to do a long run and struggled as it was to head out of the house before 6:30am anyway.

I’m bored now. I think I’m going to go to bed.

Oh… just remembered… I spent ten minutes on a swan-shaped pedello (I can’t even be bothered to look up how to spell that correctly, I am that bored with my own drivel) at Woburn safari park earlier in the week. That was a decent workout, I can tell you. Highly recommended.

Bye.

P.S. I’ve had a glass of wine this evening. Don’t judge me.

Comments
  1. I especially like the title and tags…..sweet deals fella!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    much like- it was the mention of wine!

Leave a Reply

