Super Mario and the bongo-playing turtle (Robin Hood 6 of 12)

Posted: August 18, 2013 in Marathon, running
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

An alternative title today could have been, “I think I need more sleep”.

(Scroll past the following drivel to the relevant photo, if you just want to know what the title is all about)

I won’t bore you with ALL the details of our little Devon holiday, but I have managed to keep up with the running training, although most of it has had to take place in the rain.

In the style if ‘Granny Murray’* from ‘Me Too’* here is a holiday summary:

Well there’s been… walking, running, shopping, haircuts, building, splashing, bouncing, drawing, football, singing, dancing, caching, eating, drinking, dragon-hunting, birthdays, colouring, bush-whacking, music-making, sticking, balancing, sleeping, caving, soaking-wet clothes, swimming round, slipping up and falling down.

*apologies to the majority of my readers not initiated into the ways of cBeebies (British children’s television channel). Here’s what I was trying to copy…ish

I love too, that even though I was brought up in this area, I still get to discover previously unknown areas for childish exuberance. Apologies for the quality of the next pic, it was taken by my son after I had done a basic assessment that the rope swing might possibly be able to support my 93kg frame… It did… Thankfully!

20130818-092550.jpg

Then, yesterday – Saturday 17th August – I did a few things I’d not done before.

1) I became a parkrun tourist – doing Killerton, near Exeter.

2) I ran the furthest with my boy that I have ever run (5k).

3) I met in real life, a blog-buddy (hello again Sharon)

Here is NotMuchOfaSitStiller listening to the pre-run instructions…

20130818-093601.jpg
Have you seen it yet??

Sharon was being the volunteer tail-runner today so we only got to chat a little at the start, then we saw her again briefly as she was on ‘please-nobody-run-into-this-post’ duty by the first gate). She and the other volunteers did a great job.

I need to make it very clear that this final photo is in no way intended to be derogatory, but I couldn’t get it out of my head that the run was introduced by a man very cooly sporting a fantastic pair of dungarees (Super Mario style)…

…and… although I didn’t notice at the time, he was supported by a slightly ghostly looking turtle playing the bongos!

20130818-095250.jpg
I told you I needed more sleep!

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    Meetups, holidays and parkrun tourism. Perfect!

  2. I can’t see it. I can’t see it.

    I am going to stay awake ALL NIGHT until I see the bongo-playing turtle, ok?

  3. Shaz says:

    Must me a generation gap thing as I think that of director looks like he has lost his train! Next week I will look for the bongo drumming turtle!

    Your hols sound like ours have done in years past, busy busy with little ones.

    Great to meet up, now I can put a face to the blog!

  4. That’s a splendid action photo! (though I am slightly concerned about your sleep deprived state of mind…)

  5. plustenner says:

    brilliant!!

  6. fortnightflo says:

    like lots and can defo see the bongo playing turtle…

Leave a Reply

