They think it’s all over… (Robin Hood 8 of 12)

Posted: August 31, 2013 in Marathon, not running, running
Tags: , , , , ,

I went on holiday last week. One of those ones where there’s lots of trees and countryside and sunshine and activities for the kids.
I had spent day one having a great game of tennis with NotMuchOfaSitStiller and getting lost on our bikes. I particularly enjoyed seeing his growing confidence on a bike that is actually the right size for him.
We even entered a family quiz in the evening and won £40!

Everything was going swimmingly.

Deciding to make the most of the lovely weather, I set my alarm for 6am with the intention of heading out on a long run first thing in the morning of day two… especially as that annoying left foot niggle I don’t mention was practically non-existant.

I ran.

For three hours.

Over sixteen miles, with a little break at a fresh fruit and veg shop in Edwinstowe for an apple and nectarine. Lovely.

I walked/ran the last couple of miles as I was slow anyway and my shin was feeling the effects of my non-runner’s frame.
I got back home. Tired but happy. Proud of myself for being bang on track for the Nottingham Robin Hood Marathon in 4 weeks…

…except….over the course of that day, my shin pain worsened, my ankle swelled and I could barely walk.
image

Initially it felt like my lower shin, but later, a sickening ‘crunching’ sensation was to be felt just above my ankle and I was not able to flex or extend my foot without major pain.

Ibuprofen is being taken for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
I am snacking on paracetamol.

Google + self-diagnosis indicates ‘anterior tibialis tenosynovitis’ and a 4-6 week recovery period.

I’m not a happy chappy. I was so looking forward to using this holiday to be really active, to attempt a parkrun PB, and sleep well – none of which have happened.

Soooooo… I’m petty much tapering now and my next few updates before the marathon, if I do it, will be even more boring than this one.

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    Noooo! What rotten luck. Are you going to get a professional diagnosis too? (clue: answer is “yes”)

    • Well, it had better be ‘yes’, then.
      Thanks.

      I’m 99% sure. I can feel the tendon struggling to glide.But I work with physios and I will be seeing them on Tuesday next week, so I will confirm with them.

  2. Shaz says:

    Omg poor you that’s awful wishing you a speedy recovery.

  3. tessietickle says:

    Oh no that sucks!!! Have you been to physio? There may be some exercises or magic they can do to help recovery. Injuries really do suck. I’ve been pretty much out of action for a couple of weeks due to dodgy knees, every time I think they’re ok they flare up again and now I’m gonna have to pull out of Run to the Beat next week as can’t run more than 3miles without being in pain.

    Get yourself to physio and make sure you get lots of rest. Don’t push it or you’ll make it worse. X

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Oh no! Rest it, keep munching on painkillers and REST!

  5. Chris says:

    what a disappointment! I hope it’s already feeling better.

    • Thanks. Relative rest for nearly a week now. There is some minimal improvement in pain and I can sleep now… but I can’t avoid walking on it and I can’t point my toes or pull them upwards either yet. Still… small improvements 🙂

  6. Ouch! I hope you have a speedy recovery but don’t push it to complete the marathon if you are not ready. That could make it much worse. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

