Dressing gown dash – parkrun style

Posted: January 4, 2014 in Janathon, running
Tags: , , , ,

A bit of a janathon and juneathon (if you want the warmer version) tradition is to do a dressing gown dash (see past examples: one (jogblog), two (helsbels), three (one of mine), and four (travelling hopefully). Apologies to countless others I will no doubt have missed).

I had said I would do one of these at a parkrun on January 1st this year.  However I ended up being all energetic and cycling to that parkrun so it was a bit logistically difficult.

I got grief from the self-appointed janathon mafia (Helen) for letting her down, so I hope this makes up for it.

Today, there was no such issue with bikes. I needed to take the car because I had to be home before ten.
It was a different parkrun (so nobody knew me…and it was closer) – not as pretty as Colwick, I’m sure they won’t mind me saying, but very friendly smiley volunteers (they might just have been laughing at me, I suppose) and runners alike at Forest Rec parkrun. Thank you all for welcome, folks.

It was tipping it down with rain, but the dressing gown was surprisingly nice to run in actually.
You should try it ๐Ÿ˜€

So here is the blurry photographic proof…
image

Mmmm….. So the lovely Marshall person took another…
image

Double ‘Mmmm….’ (not my bra size, indecently – before anyone suggests so).
Anyway, I was a bit too embarrassed to ask him to take another picture so this will have to do.

And my time for the 5k? … 25:01

Happy with that  ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments
  1. JogBlog says:

    Ha ha, brilliant! You are providing most excellent Jantatainment this year!

    • Glad to hear it. But I really think that’s it now. No more ideas swimming around in my brain.
      Thanks for your various plugs by the way. I’m not aiming to do anything with this blog other than amuse, but it’s still nice to know others see it and enjoy it.
      Ta ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sharon says:

    Hey well done you were super speedy in your magic dressing gown.

  3. blackandtabby says:

    I think I need a go faster dressing gown! Well done!

  4. Hels says:

    You are amazing!

  5. jensruns2011 says:

    Great time and looked like a lot of fun too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was.
      I started off a bit embarrassed but everyone was really lovely – as you’d expect, of course from a parkrun ๐Ÿ™‚ Especially the lovely chap who took the blurry pics. In his defence he was using my naffy phone, so not really his fault.
      Thank you to him (if he happens to ever read this).

  6. Brilliant! I was all prepared for one of your thinly stretched puns….

  7. Firstly brilliant that you did the dressing gown dash but secondly, those photos! They’re hilarious. Obviously the marshall was still drunk from the night before!

  8. I think I may invest in a dressing gown if it makes you run that fast!

  9. dadoorunrun says:

    that’s funny. did you drive home in your dressing gown too?

  10. fattymustrun says:

    I wanna know what was underneath the dressing gown ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. fitflo says:

    It’s definitely a magic dressing gown – excellent time well done!

  12. emma says:

    Brilliant! I’m loving all the janathon banter with dressing gowns and onesies!

Leave a Reply

