The news at Ten

Posted: January 8, 2014 in Janathon, running
Tags: , ,

I couldn’t quite work out what had happened yesterday.

It’s well past ten o’clock now but naming last night’s post ‘the 7.39’ got it lots of views from folks searching for that. People normally find my blog by stumbling over it, or occasionally by searching ‘Nipple cripple’ or ‘map my swim’.  Anyway, I’m carrying out an experiment to see if anyone finds it by searching for ‘the news at ten’.

If that’s you, hello 🙂 and sorry.

Here is the news…

My daughter has started nursery this week and they do this thing to ease them in gently (she would actually be fine) and she only does an hour a day this week – not really long enough to make it worth going home. Perfect for a run.

So there’s the news. I actually went for a run…

…and it was great!

Thus is part of what I love about the janathon challenge. If I was just going for a run I would have stuck to my local canal path but I was looking out for something different and noticed a path off to the right that I’d not really noticed before.

It led through a small wood and out into the open and there was this lovely steep incline…
image

I know! I thought the same thing…

…”What a perfect spot for some sledging when it snows! hill repeats”

So I did some hill work and enjoyed the view…
image

…but really, I’m waiting for it to snow.

Tomorrow – Genuinely thinking of getting up super early and try to get a ‘first to find’ on a geocache a couple of miles away. It could happen. It could.

Comments
    • ….and the early morning didn’t happen. Partly due to ridiculous wind waking me up repeatedly in the night. I know it woke my wife too.

      Brussel sprouts are for Christmas. Not for life.

  1. fortnightflo says:

    oooh super sledging hill!

  2. Sam says:

    To be honest I tend to use the “running” tag but you actually came up on “Janathon” .. I am yet to search news at 10 🙂 but if it makes you feel any better I did hear the “bongs” in my head as I clicked on your post!

  3. henniemavis says:

    That does it, I’m gonna go download some of my snow pics for posting w/today’s report, just to thrill you! We should do a home-exchange… I’ll come over there & help your wife manage & shuttle the kiddos about, while you come here & “play” in the snow! (running, snowshoeing, skiing & sledding, yes… but also shoveling, plowing, clearing off cars, schlepping in firewood, etc.) Deal or no deal?

  4. plustenner says:

    nice scenery! hope little one settles in the creche x

  5. Good Luck with the Geocache. I’ve yet to bloody find one, despite trying numerous times.

    • I was beaten to ‘first to find’ by 5 minutes. Oh well. Should have got up earlier if I was that desperate.

      (For your first one, just make sure you aren’t looking for a nano or a micro. Make it easy on yourself)

Leave a Reply

