Size doesn’t matter

Posted: January 18, 2014 in Janathon
Tags: , , ,

Kettle bells.

image

I’ve heard about them. I’ve seen them around. But until this Friday morning I’d not really appreciated what could be done with them.

For the second day in a row, I decided to make something of my all-inclusive gym membership and join a class I’d never done before. My gym membership (because I get corporate rates) is really pretty good and as long as I do something a couple of times a week, it’s worth my while paying for it.
I have just been swimming twice a week but also taking one or the other little person into the pool when I can, occasionally going to the gym, and now, thanks to my girl (previously referred to in this blog as ‘notmuchofasleeper’ but really quite good now) starting nursery I have done a couple of ‘classes’.

The other day it was X-Biking, and today(Friday), the class that was running at the convenient time for me was Kettle Bells. This is perhaps a good job because I had told myself that for blogging purposes I was going to do whatever class was on…be it yoga, pilates, LegsBums&Tums, or post-natal pelvic floor improvement. To be fair I probably would have benefited from any of those classes but I was still pleased that I would be partaking in one where at least I wouldn’t be the only bloke and be all self-conscious that the other attendees were questioning of my motives for being there! Phew. Dodged a bullet there.

I walked into the ‘studio’ as they call these rooms in gyms. It was already pretty full, entirely women and they all looked like they knew what they were doing but there was no obvious leader at this stage.
They all had a ‘Reebok Step’ thing in front of them and two differently-sized kettle bells. I followed suit and selected my equipment from the shelf.
I, being a man (Grrrrr… Me strong…Me big muscles!*…), selected one large, heavy-looking object and then (in case I had bitten of more than I could chew) the smallest one too, as a safety net type of thing. Here’s that photo again…
image

But now I faced that dilemma of where to stand in an exercise class. There was space at the front and space at the very back. I hate this.

I feel I can’t go at the front… I don’t want to embarrass myself… I don’t know what I’m doing and I’d have nobody to copy once the instructor has spent their allotted millisecond describing the sequence of exercises.

So I take up position the back where I can watch what the others are doing and copy but under no circumstances can I be seen to be watching. This is very important or once again my motives for being in an all-women class (I really did think it would be a bit more blokey) could be questioned.

Can I just say that I am not trained as a spy (but if I was, I’d have to say that anyway, wouldn’t I ?) and watching without being seen to be watching does not come easily to me…. and incidently is made much harder, not easier, by the presence of countless mirrors.

I needn’t have worried.
The instructor explained the exercises well, they were pretty simple and I couldn’t see anything what with all the sweat putting into my eyeballs anyway.

I’d give this class a 7/10.
– It was a good all-round workout.
– It didn’t require a degree in coordination or balance.
– It wasn’t particularly exciting and the moves didn’t really fit with the music (I’m not a dancer but I like working with music).
– I ended up doing all that floor and core work that I usually reserve purely for the functional task of sitting up in bed.

I think I would go to this class again.

But a word of warning…that ‘small’ kettle bell in the photo is metal (10 kg). The ‘big’ kettle bell is mostly plastic (8 kg).
The ‘small’ one cannot be used as a safety net.

*Here is a photo of my very manly socks …well ‘sock’…but the other one is equally manly…
image

Comments
  1. Thanks for the heads up about the sneaky kettle bells!

  2. zodak1 says:

    Kettlebells are awesome and despite their appearance give a solid workout!

  3. Sam says:

    Those sneaky bells! Well done on braving the class

  4. Excellent post. Are you aching today from it?

  5. shazruns says:

    Is raising a class or a mug hard today? So glad you did not have to do the pelvic floor class!

  6. plustenner says:

    ouch!

  7. fitflo says:

    Sounds like a great workout.

  8. JogBlog says:

    You’re assuming most women assume most men are only in classes to lech at women. That’s a lot of assumptions and a bit unfair to men and to women.

Leave a Reply

