To provide contrast

Posted: January 19, 2014 in Janathon, not running
Tags:

This is one of those posts I hate.
One of those ones just to keep me in the Janathon ‘game’.

Making the good posts look better.

One of the things I normally like about this exercise-and-blog-everyday-in-January thing is that it helps me try to be a bit creative with what I do and how I write about it…

…well not today.

This post is to provide contrast. This is what happens when you don’t know the ‘what’ or the ‘how’. I’m just writing. Let’s see how it goes…

20140119-093800.jpg

Today(Saturday) should, by all rights, be a rest day. Friday’s kettle bell class took it’s toll on my abs and we had visitors all day and…, and…, and…, and…, etc.

So…take your pick…here is my list of today’s eligible(?) activity.

1) Getting out of bed.

Seriously. This took some effort…and approximately 5 minutes.

2) Loft Dips

Our loft in my son’s room and we don’t have a proper ladder. I have a step ladder that gets me close(ish) but I have to put my foot on the bit you’re not supposed to put your foot on to reach the loft edges and pull myself up*. I did this numerous times to fetch down (and subsequently replace!) all our old baby clothes/toys/equipment for the inspection of my sis-in-law who is expecting her first child in… errr… 5 months? (I’ll be in trouble for not being sure of that, no doubt).
Babies later. Right now, it’s about the Loft Dips.

*also includes lowering down.

3) Running across the road.

Don’t read that bit, kids. It’s naughty. Don’t plan to run across the road, but sometimes, we all know, it happens. It doesn’t need to. I’m sure if I was with my daughter, I’d have waited the required ten minutes. I didn’t. I’m sorry.

4) Wii U fit / Wii fit U / however you say it

I had forgotten about this. We bought a Wii U after Christmas and got a free trial of the new version of the Wii Fit game with additional exercises / games. I actually really like it. I won’t give you a full-on games review here (it’s not one of those blogs) but there’s enough new stuff to trick you into exercising on what should be a rest day.

One of them has to count.

Sunday will be a run.

Comments
  1. Chris Dahl says:

    Kettlebells will do that. Deceptive little things.

    On Sunday, January 19, 2014, notmuchofarunner wrote:

    > notmuchofarunner posted: “This is one of those posts I hate. One of > those ones just to keep me in the Janathon ‘game’. Making the good posts > look better. One of the things I normally like about this > exercise-and-blog-everyday-in-January thing is that it helps me try to be a > bi”

  2. Tubontherun says:

    I vote for loft dips! Sounds difficult, though I am sure getting out of bed was a contender. I know it was in our house!

  3. plustenner says:

    sounds like a lorra exercise to me!

  4. fitflo says:

    I think it all COUNTS* so well done you!

    [*this word was edited by the spelling and decency police to avoid any possible embarrassment to the individual – Ed]

  5. I vote getting out of bed. Sometimes that requires the most effort.

Leave a Reply

