How to survive a Juneathon – 10 top tips

Posted: May 21, 2014 in Juneathon, running
Tags: , , , , ,

So you’ve somehow heard about Juneathon. You think it could be fun, exercising and blogging everyday in June. You like a challenge so you figured “why not?” and you’ve signed up.

image

(Can I just add at this point that clearly, this entire post is sooo completely different to the ‘How to survive a Janathon’ one that I wrote in…errr…January. Completely different. Not the same at all.)

If this is your first time doing a Juneathon, you may figure that coming up with something interesting to write everyday can’t be that hard, and to be fair, it might not be for you… in which case – fine… you have no need to read on. But if you’d like a few pointers from someone that doesn’t really know what he’s on about either (but has three years+ experience of such), then do read on.

I did my first Juneathon 3 years ago and loved the randomness of thinking of different things to do and write about each day. I had never done this blogging thing before and I was pretty new to running too so it was all quite exciting really. One of my most viewed posts (actually, until I wrote the Janathon version of this one), still remains one of my first (alas, it is true, I have mostly gone downhill since then) and I think that was due to me referencing so many other bloggers.

Which brings me onto my first tip.

1) Read other people’s blogs (and comment on them)

There are likely to be a couple of hundred or so people doing this thing and the chances are that a few of them are going to write some interesting/helpful/entertaining/inspiring/supportive things that you identify with…
… but they may take some searching out. Even once you’ve found a few such blogs, there will likely be at least a few days of the month when these people feel tired, uninspired or mojo deficient, but it’s probably best not to tell them their post was not up to their usual standard… actually, scratch that… do tell them… they might not know otherwise and continue producing drivel.

2) …but don’t expect people to read yours.

Seriously, as I just mentioned, there could be a couple of hundred or so people doing this thing and that is a lot of blogs for anyone to try and read through all of them. It isn’t going to happen. Chances are, people will (like you) regularly read a few of the blogs that they have somehow stumbled across and identified with, but they may not have time to to this every day for every blog they read. Don’t take it personally.
I like THIS PHILOSOPHY, myself. So please, ignore what I wrote just now, feel free to come or go as you wish. Comment or not, I actually really don’t mind. I’m not trying to create some sort of brand or running empire here. I do not forward my statistics to the media or marketing companies.
I write and run just for fun.

3) Have a theme (maybe)

It can be useful to have some sort of theme so that your readers know what to expect from your blog (unless what you want them to expect is the unexpected) but don’t just tell me your: time, distance covered, average pace, top speed, maximum heart rate, route taken, etc and expect me to still be awake two minutes later.

5) Be original.

This is often easier said than done, so don’t get too tied up on it. But if you can come up with a new take on something or present it in such a way as to make it entertaining or easily digestible then, great. If not, just be you. Don’t try to be someone else, they will always be a better them than you can.

6) Don’t continually whine about your broken shoulder (or plantar fasciitis)

Even if you have a broken shoulder which is really frustrating and although you can still function it makes you feel less of a human being and it somehow seems to have stripped away a little bit of your self-image and left you feeling a different person somehow, don’t let the fact that you have a broken shoulder (which annoyingly sometimes seems fine and at others renders you incapable of passing someone a packet of crisps) take over in any way from whatever else you have to write.

By all means tell people but don’t keep going on about it all the time.

They will get bored.

Even if you include pictures…

20131228-073115.jpg like that, people will still get bored. Especially if they’ve seen them before.
Even if you turn it into a game…

20131228-073449.jpg like that or like this…

20131228-073618.jpg …it doesn’t matter. It just gets a bit tedious.
(That last picture for any newcomers to my blog, was ‘Planter Fascist Eye-Test’ get it? Hilarious, I’m sure.)

So to recap – Don’t mention the broken shoulder.
(I mentioned it once but I think I got away with it).

7) Do include photographs.
Here’s one of my broken shoulder for example…
image
And here’s another of a parkrun at Christmas…
image
Or a nice field with a funky looking cloud…

20131229-063926.jpg
I think you get the idea. They break up the writing and make it easier for people with short attention spans to…
…to… oh look… a squirrel!

If you are feeling so inclined you could create an entire blog post using ONLY photographs/images (but I warn you, this is more time consuming than it looks).

8) If in doubt. Keep it short.

9) Don’t try to follow some magic formula.

Someone will always come up with a list of 10 rules to writing a blog, or something similar.
Ignore them.
Have fun.
Do your own thing.
Enjoy.

And finally…
10) If you want to be taken seriously, never, EVER, under any circumstances, forget rule number 4.
.

.

.

.

.

11) Set clear expectations/boundaries and stick to them.

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    Definitely don’t forget rule number 4!

  2. runningalongbehindpuffing says:

    Back on form I see

  3. Tubontherun says:

    Can we vote the Dressing Down Dash photo to appear in this post too?

  4. […] is recommended by those that know to have a plan. Check here and here for their other sound advice. My plan is to run or cycle everyday, my foot would not cope […]

  5. runtezza says:

    I WILL moan about my plantar fasciitis if I want to!!! Will try to keep it short though, naturally.

  6. CeeJayKay says:

    haaahahahaa! love it… and number four ROCKS!

Leave a Reply

