The Plan

Posted: June 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

Ok. There is no plan.  I can see this Juneathon going very badly indeed. At least from a blogging point of view.

This evening I played tennis again for about three hours. I should be getting good by now. I’m not. My shoulder starts playing up after a couple of hours.  Did you know I broke my shoulder about a year ago? I think I might have mentioned it once or twice.

 I have a tennis match on Wednesday night too.  It would make more sense for me to tell you about that on Wednesday, though.

 

So here’s the thing – Past Juneathons for me have involved far too long fiddling about with pictures in photoshop, trying (sometimes in vain) to be funny, entertaining, or just downright silly. (Silly can be good for the soul sometimes though, I find. I might still do some silly.)

This year however, for the most part, I shall strip it back.  I shall ignore most of the advice I dished out about how to survive a Juneathon and just write stuff.  I generally just want to make sure I don’t spend too long tippy tappy typing away on a keyboard, instead of doing the other things I enjoy. 

You don’t need to know this. I’m telling myself really.

 

The Goal…

I genuinely want to get ‘better’, and by that I mean, ‘faster’ at running. I ran a 23:06 5k last month. I’d love to go sub 23:00 by the end of June.

One of the ways I see that as being possible, is by shifting a few pounds. And one of the ways I can do that is by eating less junk. So no chocolate or sweets for me for a month – replacing them with fruit and veg snacks.  I have told my son that is what I am doing, so I want there to be actual results from this and he can see the positive benefits.  This will keep me from cheating (I have tried it before and lasted only 3 days).

 

 

N.B I still may write the odd silly blog post and publish the odd random picture 

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    The plan is little blogging , much exercise (with broken shoulder) and no goodies, that’s hardcore Juneathon

  2. Eating less junk sounds like a good place to start. I may have to follow your lead on that one! 😉
    Happy Jueathon!

  3. RubySneakers says:

    I’m a bit the same with the blogging ‘thingy’ and will probably stick to twitter mostly (less tippy tappy typing) for Juneathon.

    The sub 23:00 is a great goal – good luck with it! 🙂

  4. plustenner says:

    good luck! I reckon you will do a 22-something 5k 🙂

  5. abradypus says:

    OMG! You broke your shoulder? When? How did I miss that?

Leave a Reply

