Live(ish) Blog

Posted: June 15, 2014 in Juneathon, not running
Tags: , , ,

WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS

Well this is live at the time of writing, but all will be history by the time I hit ‘publish’. But then again…. aren’t all posts?

No apologies if you don’t like the football, it’s just tough I’m afraid. Go away and come back tomorrow. I don’t mind 😉

 

I have spent most of today either sat in a car, cuddling my newly arrived baby nephew, or eating pizza so I thought about going for a run when I eventually got home but I cleaned the oven instead and now I’m getting ready to watch England’s first World Cup football match Vs Italy.

I shall therefore be incorporating my exercise into this activity in the following way:

  • Throw in = 1 press up
  • Corner = 1 sit up
  • Goal kick = 1 squat thrust
  • Free kick / offside = 1 burpee
  • Penalty = Plank (to begin at the point the penalty is given and to last until the penalty is taken)

I can’t think of anything for Red and Yellow cards yet… I’ll have a think and maybe add them on the end ‘cos it’s just about to start…

Oh, but I must say…I am going to be in so much trouble with my boy tomorrow too. Originally, I had told him, ages ago, that he could watch England’s 9pm matches but an 11pm one was really too late for him.  However, as we had returned quite late from baby-cuddling expeditions anyway, I softened and said that if he did his teeth and got ready for bed then he could read his book in bed for 45 minutes and then come and watch the first half only.

He only went and fell asleep didn’t he! I tried to wake him. Genuinely – I did. But he was well off in the land of nod. It will still be my fault tomorrow though. You just wait!

Here we go!…

KICK OFF – TGFTTGTGGFFGFTCCTFTGTTFFFTC*GOAL!*G*GOAL*FTGC – HALF TIME

I forgot about anything for a goal as well… so… Punch a cushion 10 times / jump up and down 10 times (dependant on team)

First Half Summary

  • Press ups  = 11
  • Sit Ups = 4
  • Squat Thrusts = 7
  • Burpees = 9
  • …+ 10 cushion punches + 10 jumping ups and downs

 

SECOND HALF – TFTCG*GOAL*FTCGFFFGGGTCGFCCGFCTGTTGFFGFFTCCGFT*YELLOW*FFT – FULL TIME

Second Half Summary

  • Press ups  = 1O
  • Sit Ups = 8
  • Squat Thrusts = 11
  • Burpees = 14
  • …+ 10 cushion punches

(oh… and I’ll add 5 star jumps for the yellow card)

RESULT: ITALY 2 – ENGLAND 1

Gah! Shame… but promising.  I actually really enjoyed watching that, believe it or not. I’ll let you know how my boy feels about missing it, tomorrow :-/

P.S I genuinely thought there would be a lot more throw ins, etc than there actually were. I might have missed a couple but not many, I don’t think. You know how to contact me if you require me to work as a sports statistician.

Comments
  1. Sounds like a pretty good workout!

  2. shazruns says:

    I remember wanting to watch Chelsea on match of the day when I was a child and it started late, I was put to bed, woken and then within seconds went back to bed! You should be ok for the next game.

  3. The boy obviously needed his sleep and actually just found it really funny that he’d let himself doze off last night – phew!
    Watched match on BBC iPlayer this morning. Disappointed but accepting.

  4. plustenner says:

    that is so clever!

  5. blackandtabby says:

    Good job you weren’t watching the match in a pub!

Leave a Reply

