Don’t underestimate me!

Posted: October 1, 2014 in Marathon, running
Tags: , , , ,

I may not seem like much.

I am to some people…
…but not to others.

Some people respect me…
…others do not.

I may be small, but I can be tough too, and if you underestimate me, I might just take you down.

If you think you can take me on after you have spent the previous day running round at your daughter’s fourth birthday party eating crisps, excessive amounts of barbequed meat, breadsticks covered in various unidentifiable dips (because you threw away the lid that told you what they were), and those small ring-shaped pink biscuits with that sugary icing, then you underestimate me.

If you were to stay up ’til gone midnight, because that was he only time your house was quiet, then drink the remaining wine in the house to wash down the two ice creams you have just consumed, then again I say you underestimate me.

If you don’t bother preparing to face me until the morning in question and then scrabble around trying to find a pair of shorts that still fit around your increasingly padded midriff, and try to remember where you put the safety pins, then you disrespect me.

If you think you can leave it to the last minute to then cycle to meet me before we do battle, and wear trail shoes to try and run me down on road, then to be quite honest, you are really entering the realms of arrogance!

How dare you tell people you will break me in two hours! I’ll have you for that! I’ll let you get annoyingly close, but let’s say 2:05:00 shall we?

I may only be a half marathon, but I can still cause you some pain!

* * * * * * * *

Last Sunday I ran the Robin Hood Half Marathon. I ran the full last year but due to tendonitis in my foot at that time I hadn’t been able to train properly for 8 weeks prior. I referred to it as an extreme taper, but it really wasn’t good.

Extreme Tapir

Extreme Tapir

Another extreme tapir

Another extreme tapir

I completed it then but it was painful and I promised myself I would never again run a marathon unless I felt completely prepared.

Unfortunately, I did not extend the same wisdom to last weekend’s half. I can honestly say that I found the last two miles as bad as the last two of the previous year’s full marathon. And I wasn’t expecting that. At all.

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    Oh dear, I take it it was the wine and the ice cream combo that caused the last two miles to be tough, but hey not a bad time and there is always next year!

  2. plustenner says:

    fairweatherrunner and I had a similar experience at the Ealing half on Sunday 🙂 but we finished it and went for pizza afterwards

    • That’s the way to do it! 🙂

      I cycled back home again after mine and then immediately took daughter to a classmate’s birthday party.
      My recovery food was crisps and chocolate fingers.

  3. Hels says:

    Mmmmmm, party rings….

Leave a Reply

