Winter miles…

Posted: December 28, 2014 in Janathon, running
Tags: , , , , , ,

“Winter miles make summer smiles”

That’s what ‘they’ say, isn’t it?
RUBBISH!

Although I’m never sure who ‘they’ really are. Because if ‘they’ are anybody at all ‘they’ must just go around all the time just saying random stuff that may or may not be true.

Winter miles make summer winter smiles.

I mean. Why wait?

Over the last couple of days we’ve had some unexpected snow and I had an unexpected message from a blogger contact, Louise (aka abradypus) saying she was going to be in the area for a parkrun on the 27th Dec. Having followed her blog but never met in person, this sounded like an ideal excuse, if one were needed, to try out a new (to me) parkrun in Beeston.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/986/18542860/files/2014/12/img_0017.jpg

There’s some winter smiles for you.

And then I got home to find the long awaited cooker had at last arrived. More smiles (but no miles).

I could write a book on this.
I’d call it…

The Saga Of The Aga

…except it’s not an aga… but, “The Book About The Cooker” doesn’t have quite the same ring to it.
On second thoughts, I’m not going to write a book, suffice to say cookers have arrived and been taken away a-plenty, companies have lost money, emails have been sent, telephone conversations have been… You really don’t need to know this…. I’ll move on…

After an evening of game-playing and kids-movie-watching last night, I got up bright and early this morning, put my shorts on (but most definitely also hat and gloves) and covered a 9km taking in the delights of my favourite hill…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/986/18542860/files/2014/12/img_0043.jpg

Why wait? Enjoy now.

Comments
  1. ignace_s says:

    I’m smiling jus reading this ๐Ÿ™‚
    Nice sunrise!

  2. abradypus says:

    It was only a matter of time before I stalked you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. plustenner says:

    indeed! who are these mysterious they’s? and isn’t abradypus a lovely lady ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Ola! 2 lovely pics and I must say you are looking rather trim…

  5. Hels says:

    Great pictures! Smiles mean miles. Or something.

    Have you cooked anything nice yet?

  6. Shaz says:

    A Parkrun, a Janathon meet up and a new cooker, ‘you can’t get anything better than that!

  7. atwinthing33 says:

    I hate running in the winter!!!!

Leave a Reply

