Finely tuned

Posted: January 3, 2015 in Janathon, not running, swimming
Tags: , , , ,

My body is finely tuned.

It is.

Like a violin can be finely tuned…

… but as with a violin, if I try to create a masterpiece with it, it creates rubbish.

That is what my finely tuned body is doing now 😦

*Snot. Cough. Cold. Splutter.*

For some reason I still offered to take the kids swimming today. We had fun. I didn’t do much swimming, mind. Especially after my son pointed out my bleeding nose (that is to say ‘my nose with blood pouring out of it’ rather than him just being rude and drawing attention to the size of my hooter i.e. “look at your bleedin’ nose!” which incidentally, is normally proportioned).
I’d forgotten about my nosebleeds yesterday. They will continue for a week now 😦

I choose to be positive!

You see, instead of just feeling sorry formyself, alternatively I could take the view that my body knows that I am unable/unwilling to properly train at this time (for a marathon in April), and it is preparing me the best way it knows:

Sweating
Difficulty breathing
Aching muscles
Inappropriate bleeding
Fatigue
Wondering if it will ever end
Looking dreadful in photos

…Just like a marathon.

Janathon day 3 – involving forced marathon training by way of a cold, swimming, and blood – Done.

Comments
  1. fitflo says:

    So glad to hear I’m not the only one who gets cold nose bleeds! Not sure how long youve had it, today is day 12 for me and I’m starting to feel normal again. Hope you get better soon!

  2. winsometahn says:

    There, you’ve found the positive side of having a cold! Hope you feel better soon.

  3. Shaz says:

    I would say ‘poor you’, but that would go against my norm by giving a man sympathy, so instead, get ‘out there and get on with it.’

  4. abradypus says:

    There, there. Poor you…

    Now, stuff some tissues up your nose and go for a run!

  5. plustenner says:

    hope you feel better soon x

Leave a Reply

