Journey

Posted: January 4, 2015 in Janathon, Marathon, not running, running
Tags: , ,

Despite some of the ‘helpful’ suggestions I received yesterday, such as, ‘shove some tissue up your nose and go for a run’ I have still not been for a run.

I have been doing what I suspect the vast majority of Janathon participants actually do, which is – go about my normal daily routine and then try to work out which aspect of it could possibly interpreted as that day’s exercise.

For me, today that was another family walk. Making the most of the last day before everyone goes back to work/school, we found a few more geocaches in the late afternoon.

image

The morning was spent coughing, spluttering and blowing a (thankfully not bleeding) nose, so despite still feeling a bit rubbish, it was good to head outside and get some fresh air.

Hoping to feel better soon and get a proper run in tomorrow.  Especially as I have now officially entered (rather than just talking about it) the Huddersfield marathon on 19th April 2015 and I seriously need to do done training for it.

Sounds obvious right? But my brain goes… “A marathon? You’ve done a few of them before. You’ll be fine. Training is for the weak”
So I’ve chosen one that describes itself a tough, hilly and challenging.  That should stop me from getting complacent.

It’s working so far. No complacency here. I’ve entered a hilly 20 miler about three weeks before the marathon to make sure I’m somewhere near the level of fitness at which I need to be.

The marathon has a 500 person limit… so there is a genuine possibility I could finish last.

My brother turns 40 the week before it too and is planning to do a ‘Wolf Run‘ with myself and some friends by means of celebration, so there’s also a strong possibility of injuring myself or otherwise rendering myself unable to complete the marathon.
I can’t missed the birthday do, though.

Let’s see what happens. The journey is as enjoyable as the destination.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/986/18542860/files/2015/01/img_2193.jpg

Comments
  1. Love the pic and you might be a little crazy. A hilly marathon but I get it need the motivation. Good luck.

  2. abradypus says:

    Who would say something as callous as that? Shame on them!

  3. Tubontherun says:

    Guilt as charged about trying to work out how to fathom a Janathon post out of my day to day life! Good luck with the marathon training (in whatever guise it comes).

  4. plustenner says:

    Wolf Run looks fun – not 🙂

Leave a Reply

