Reverting to type [+edit]

Posted: January 22, 2015 in Janathon, Marathon, running
Tags: ,

For a change, I thought today I’d add no pictures, make no jokes, put the sarcasm on hold….and just type.

I went for my run this morning.  I had intended for it to be a long one, as I knew I was due to give blood this afternoon and although I’m usually fine afterwards, I didn’t know how I’d be feeling this evening or tomorrow.  In the end, I wimped out a bit and just did a five-miler (although, against medical advice after I took my son to Cubs, I ran home, running back again later to pick him up  –  so add another 2 miles to that for my day’s total).

I actually just wrote a really long post… I needed to write it…but it made no sense… so I deleted it.

It has served its purpose.

[Edit … the following was written at 09:30 the following morning… when a bit more awake…]

I have concluded that last night I was feeling a bit drained. Literally.

I had given blood at 2pm and probably shouldn’t have gone for a little run in the evening.

I was feeling lethargic in body and in mind.

I didn’t save what I wrote last night, but it included thoughts about why I run, and the more I thought about it, the less I wanted to do it, and it all got a bit negative.  But because I know that I do enjoy it really, it was clear that this very acute slump was a little out of character and therefore – nonsense.

I had written stuff about how running as an activity is quite different from how I am as a person.  How as a child, I would watch, learn and understand something before I’d do it.  Not particularly one to jump in and learn from my mess-ups.  I’d like to do things that I could feel accomplished in, that I could say (at least to myself) “I am good at that”.  Running was not (and still –  is not) one of those things. 

So, this morning, thinking a little more clearly, I have concluded maybe that is precisely why I do (normally) quite like it.  Because I don’t put that pressure on myself to be brilliant at it. I (normally) just go out and do it.

But not right now.

Janathon (day 21) – involving running (and typing) when I shouldn’t – Done

Comments
  1. plustenner says:

    well done on giving blood, I have not been for ages (embarassed)

  2. abradypus says:

    Running because you mostly enjoy it and because it’s a no pressure activity both sound like excellent reasons to me.

Leave a Reply

