I have a cunning plan…

Posted: January 24, 2015 in Janathon, running, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

…as cunning as a cunning fox with a degree in cunning from Cunning University.

Well it isn’t actually all that cunning, but if I just said I have a very average plan it wouldn’t sound as good.
My plan is actually very simple: To get a reasonable sleep tonight (Saturday night), set out all my running stuff to minimise the morning faffage*, and do a long run on Sunday morning thus also minimising the impact my marathon training has on my lovely family.

*’faffage’ – absolutely a word.

[Edit – that was as far as I got with writing yesterday (Saturday) because, in the interest of fulfilling the plan, I went to bed. The following was written on Sunday 25th Jan…]

On Saturday, I played a tennis match. Mixed. 36 tennis games in total against 3 different pairs, where every game counts. We ended up winning 19 games to 17. Phew! Effectively one game in it. The rest of our team did similarly so an overall win for our club. It was at another David Lloyd club so I had fully intended to once again steal a session at the gym while I was there, but time was pushing on and it would have been rather selfish of me to have stayed out much longer :-/
I also did a bit of a core workout session later that evening using the ‘runtastic six-pack’ app (which doesn’t work, by the way – I still don’t have a six-pack).

As for my run this morning… I did indeed wake up. I did indeed get up. I even managed to get the dishwasher and a load of washing on the go before I left the house at 06:30, returning home 2.5 hours and 16 miles later.

Here’s a clip (if it works) from the last few miles – it’s only very short…and not very interesting really…I’m just experimenting… 😉

Hyperlapse run along Nottingham canal 25.01.2015

A post shared by @notmuchofarunner on

Janathon (days 24 & 25) – incorporating tennis, core stuff, and full on proper actual running and that – Done!

Comments
  1. Shaz says:

    Wow amazing mileage

  2. plustenner says:

    16 miles in 2.5 hours – awesome!

  3. winsometahn says:

    Wow – impressive mileage and very impressive time!!

  4. jensruns2011 says:

    Love the word faffage! 😉 Great mileage, well done 🙂

  5. Faffage is totally a word! Great distance!

Leave a Reply

