Piano man – running parody

Posted: February 21, 2015 in Marathon, running, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

To the tune of ‘Piano Man’ by Billy Joel…

It’s 5am on a Saturday
And I don’t want to get out of bed
But I know if I stay, that in April, I’ll pay
So I might as well just go instead

You see, that’s when I’m running a marathon
And I want to make sure that it flows
Cos it’s long and it’s hilly
And I know that I’m silly
We all know that I’d much rather doze.

“So go and run long you’re in training, man
Go and run long alright
If you’re not in the mood for a tempo run
Don your mansuit and zip it up tight”

Chaffree underwear is a friend of mine
They keep my thighs red rawness free
But I vas-up my nips or the blood from them drips
And makes a big mess on my tee

This hill! (I believe it is killing me)
As a mile in, I run up its face
Well, I’m sure that I can’t be moving far
Won’t be home til next week at this pace!

Now crawling’s a real possibility
As my legs, they cling on for dear life
And they talk with my head, who is still half in bed
And would like to be there with my wife

And for race day I’m practising fueling
Just water and nil else at all
Yes I’m shunning the drinks full of sugariness
As I’m hoping to not hit ‘the wall’

“So enjoy running long you’re in training, man
Enjoy running long alright
You’ll be getting much stronger and running much longer
So in April you so won’t be all sh..oddy”

It’s a pretty good run for a Saturday
And I manage some seventeen miles
But although, now I’m fine, is tomorrow the time
I’ll experience DOMS (and my piles)?

So my mind turns now to recovery
And although I feel like a beer
I’ll stretch and I’ll stroll and get out the foam roll
And say “This marathon’s yours, do you hear?”

“So enjoy running long you’re in training, man!
And enjoy stretching off, tonight
For you know that you could
Do as much as you should
And stop muscles from feeling all tight.

Comments
  1. plustenner says:

    love it!

Leave a Reply

