It’s the law…

Posted: March 8, 2015 in Injury, Marathon, running
Tags: , , , ,

It’s the law of running that a few weeks before a big race/event something will go wrong. 

This includes (but is not restricted to…):

Broken bones. 

Getting a cold.

Mojo deficiency syndrome.

Slightly poorly ankle.

…and it is the most serious of the above ailments with which I am currently suffering.

Yes. The slightly poorly ankle.

I played tennis yesterday and picked up another mystery injury. The random arm bruise from last week is still colourful, by the way…



(I shall be providing weekly bruise updates because I know that’s what you want.)

The new injury was a hurty-ankle but I couldn’t work out if it was an outside (oh-dear-I-must-have-hit-myself-in-the-ankle-with-my-racquet-without-realising-at-the-time) sort of pain, or an internal (oh-dear-I-have-inadvertently-placed-excessive-strain-on-the-already-overused-and-under-recovered-soft-tissues-of-an-unstable-joint) sort of pain.

So… to assist in diagnosis, I went for a 9 mile run this morning.  It was supposed to be 16 miles, but prudence suggested otherwise. 

(I normally don’t listen to prudence, she can be a bit bossy and boring, but it’s important to hear people out sometimes, I think).

And the revised diagnosis is…

A hurty and slightly swollen ankle.



I seemed to run on it ok, but I don’t want to push it. Next weekend is a big tennis match again, and the week after that is the Ashby20, a hilly 20-mile road race. So I think I might just take things down a notch running-wise before then. If that then goes well, I shall just keep myself ticking over until the marathon a month later.

Prudence and I are chilling out together this week. I’ve decided to get to know her better.  I’ve been a bit hard on her in the past.

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    Sensible you, well done! RICE for that ankle I think.

  2. abradypus says:

    I definitely want regular bruise updates and applaud your decision to spend the week with Prudence.

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    *lol* OH MY! i LOVE the ‘Mojo deficiency syndrome’ i SO HAVE THAT at the moment!!!! and i told my ‘Helga’ to S.T.F.U and F.R.O. on Sunday and walked home after 5km! (mind you i was beating myself up about it just dont tell Helga)

  4. I like the “mojo deficiency” I think I suffer from that too. Good luck with all the injuries.

  5. winsometahn says:

    Thank you for the bruise update – I needed my sunglasses for it last week it was so glary (as my mother would say). I hope the RICE is working on the ankle!

Leave a Reply

