Motivation like a pro(file)

Posted: March 17, 2015 in Injury, Marathon, running
Tags: , , ,

I can certainly be very ‘all or nothing’ at times. If I’m motivated, I’m well motivated, running most places, cycling everywhere else, eating well, etc… But when I fall off the wagon, I seem to land squarely in the biscuit tin.

For some reason the looming hilly races on the horizon haven’t been working their magic. Maybe they were too far away… WELL THEY AREN’T TOO FAR AWAY NOW! The Ashby20 is this coming weekend (22nd March ’15) and the Huddersfield Marathon on April 19th.

I’ve been looking at the profile for the Ashby20 and it seems to match my motivation of late…



This week = be super-good week.

Nothing that will make the weekend harder.

I have been doing the odd, very short run, more to help me mentally than physically and the ankle has settled a bit…



Ankle update



…and I think I’ll be fine.

The arm bruise is looking less interesting too…



(I might have been tensing a bit .., the best i could anyway)

Bruise update

I don’t think I’ll make it to the Mr Universe finals this year.

So I’m sat here post-dinner, drinking a pint of water and watching with envy as my kids tuck into some ice-cream and I’m wondering if I should run the 20 miles on Sunday with no fuel (as I have with all my long training runs) or have a slap-up breakfast and an ice-cream that morning, by way of a scientific experiment, like.

Comments
  1. winsometahn says:

    No advice on the fuelling I’m sorry, but pleased to see ankle & arm slowly returning to normal!

  2. abradypus says:

    Breakfast of ice cream gets my vote!

  3. shazruns says:

    Oh my and the blog post on the Ashy20 is where?………….. The suspense is killing me

Leave a Reply

