Rubbish Run #useyourrun

Posted: March 26, 2015 in running
Tags: , , , ,

Today I was planning to do some hill repetitions.  It didn’t go to plan.

There is a decent hill near to where I take my children to school. It’s about a mile away, down the road and along the canal path to get there. 

It used to be an artificial ski slope in its day and I’m still waiting for a decent snow fall so I can grab the sledge and head out (I suppose, taking the kids with me if I must).

Trail shoes on… At the start line…



Ok. This is admittedly not a start line but the car park bay. It’s my start line, though.

Today, it wasn’t snowing. It wasn’t sunny. Or rainy. It was just one of those typical, English, nothing-in-particular, dull days. But it was also hill rep day… and in the village it was rubbish bin collection day.

Something I try to do on my runs is definitely in line with that quote, 

“Take only pictures. Leave only footprints.”

Where I can though, I think it’s nice to leave a place even nicer than I found it. 

This all fits in well with the current New Balance ‘use your run’ campaign. You may have seen the advert incorporating the folks from @goodgym where they fix up a park.

Well it got me thinking how I use my runs and if I could use them more.

I will often, when out on a run (especially if there’s a bin in sight) collect the odd bit of rubbish, chuck it away, and carry on.  This post was intended to be one of those, ‘let’s all do our bit’ sort of posts encouraging us runner types to take literally a few seconds out of our runs to make our own environments a little better.  

It certainly started out that way. As I ran down the road, before I even got to the canal, I was popping a few bits of rubbish in the bins. Thursday = bin day, so it really was dead simple and I didn’t have to carry anything (although I did have a couple of plastic bags stuffed in my pocket just in case). 



Excuse the ‘rubbish’ photography… Sweet wrappers, cans, take-away cartons, etc – binned.

Then I got to the canal. Rubbish along here seems so much more out of place. I mean… I don’t like it anywhere, buit seems even more incongruous next to the water, juxtaposed with the trees and wildlife (get me and my big words, today).



This is where the bags come in handy. 

And this is where things change slightly.

You see I came here today with the intention of clearing some rubbish on my way to my favourite hill, but there had obviously been some sort of ‘gathering’ here and folks had just chucked stuff left, right and centre.



It spoils the view somewhat, don’t you think?

I certainly wasn’t able to clear the area totally, I won’t go near anything that looks sharp or dangerous, and I only had two bags, but something’s better than nothing, right?



Now, I know this isn’t practical for every run. Apart from anything else, I ended up only having time to do a couple of hill repeats…

…but it felt much better, doing them on a cleaner hill…

…and the run back to the village was a good arm workout too… but it was as though the world was a slightly sunnier place on the return journey…



Also, thankfully there were plenty of bins available.

It was, afterall, bin day. 

#useyourrun

Comments
  1. winsometahn says:

    Not the post I was expecting from your title – I was prepared to be all sympathetic!
    Well done you though! I used to pick up rubbish while hill walking but never have on a run. I’ll be changing that now 😊

  2. shazruns says:

    Fabulous Womble impersonation. Great way to run those hills, I might steal this idea!

  3. justinesq says:

    Eco friendly running, well done you…. Where’s the hill, I’m bored of Selby Road ?

    • It’s just off the Nottingham canal. Near Awsworth/Ilkeston.
      Don’t go yet though, there’s still loads of rubbish around. I couldn’t take it all, but it is lovely around there and it’s great for hill training.

  4. […] Rubbish Run #useyourrun March 26, 2015 […]

  5. […] Rubbish Run #useyourrun March 26, 2015 […]

  6. […] Rubbish Run #useyourrun March 26, 2015 […]

Leave a Reply

