Another rubbish run

Posted: April 23, 2015 in running
Tags: , , , , , ,

image

Another rubbish run – not referencing my recent marathon in Huddersfield (an update for that can be found here shortly), but instead a follow-up on MY OTHER BUBBISH RUN that I did in March (partly inspired by the New Balance #useyourrun campaign).

In that post I went a little further than the usual ‘putting few bits in the bin’ as I run and I’d taken a couple of carrier bags to clear a beautiful area nearby that I use for hill training. But on arrival it was worse than ever, so the plan was to return…with bigger bags.
image

So it was that yesterday, while my son was at his cub scouts group nearby, I ran to this area again but this time armed with larger bin bags and a reinforced, stronger bag for the glass pieces I knew I’d seen last time. Oh… and gloves. Definitely also with gloves.

I had to work pretty quickly, as I only had 75 minutes before needing to collect my son again so I didn’t take loads of before and after photos, but I really feel I made a difference.

Three very full bags – including one full of glass bottles (broken or intact) which alone, weighed in at 6.6 kg
image

(I figured as I had gone to the trouble of separating the glass, I may as well take it home for recycling too)

image
It was a beautiful evening. I felt good having cleared this area. The workout was a good one. I was absolutely dripping with sweat, especially after carrying the bags most of the way back. Thursday is bin collection day so I borrowed some space at the top of the locals’ bins that they had set out already, but that still meant carrying all three bags for a mile or so and the glass one all the way.
image

Drip sweat, drip sweat, drip sweat.

I’ll leave you with a pick of this little fella (or ‘filly’…I obviously have no idea)…
image

…that I found while clearing an area just off the path. It seems their defence mechanism is just to stay really, really still, in a sort of ‘kids in the car versus the T-Rex in Jurassic Park’ kind of way. It allowed me to get super close, anyway and snap that albeit poor quality picture on my phone.

Job done. Had fun. Nice one…

#useyourrun

Comments
  1. blackandtabby says:

    Good work. I get as far as picking up rubbish that will fit in my pockets when running, but you deserve a boy scout badge.

  2. […] Another rubbish run April 23, 2015 […]

Leave a Reply

