Tennish

Posted: June 3, 2015 in Juneathon, not running
Tags: ,

Juneathon 2015 (day 2)

Forget the French open. All the real tennis action was going on at my local tennis club in the Nottinghamshire (league something or other) short format mixed doubles.

Our local club has a few advantages over the courts at the French open:

1) it’s free to watch the matches

2) there are no large pieces of display/advertising to fall down and injure people (or whatever it was that fell on spectators’ heads on Tuesday as Roland Garros).

3) it isn’t in France*

I’m no good at making tennis sound exciting. I think it’s a great game. I love the psychology and everything. But I’m not a tennis writer. I won’t try to be one today.
We won.
That’s all you need to know.
And you don’t even need to know that to be fair, but I’ve told you anyway, you privileged people, you.

I will also mention at this point that I’m appreciating the rainbow tennis photo love from yesterday’s blog post by the way. Thank you. I was happy with it too 🙂

More tennis to come on Sunday when my son and I play at the Nottingham Open. Yes. Seriously.

We won a small tournament a while back and our prize was to play at the qualifying weekend of the Nottingham Open with (packed) lunch, free entry, a further tournament to play in, watch the WTA tennis qualifiers (maybe also some bigger names on the practise courts), and possibly some further prizes – who knows?! I’ll let you know how it goes – obviously.
image

So… It’s all good. Two days in to Juneathon and how would I rate my performance so far out of ten?
Well..

…ten (ish), of course.

*Not that I have anything against France particularly, but it would take longer to get there and we’d probably be expelled from the Nottinghamshire league.

Comments
  1. shazruns says:

    Good luck with the open, how exciting

  2. abradypus says:

    Coo! Will you still blog and stuff when you’re a tennis super-star?

  3. plustenner says:

    awesome! enjoy 🙂

  4. Sam says:

    Sounds like fun! Sure you will have a ball 🙂

Leave a Reply

