Two for one

Posted: June 5, 2015 in Juneathon, running, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Yesterday (Thursday 4th June) for Juneathon, I played tennis and I swam.
Not at the same time.
That would have been interesting.
But no.

I hit a ball up and down a court for a couple of hours, and later, I swam repeatedly up and down a pool for half an hour.

There is no more to say.

It is what it is. It doesn’t even deserve its own blog post.

But today (Friday 5th June) I decided that if I’m going to actually have a decent go at another marathon, I’d best get back into the long-run mentality. As I knew this was unlikely over this forthcoming weekend of tennis activities with my son, today was my best bet.

Unfortunately I had not eaten breakfast this morning, but no matter, I had recently got quite used to long runs on an empty stomach – convincing myself I was training my body to burn fat and not rely on carbohydrate stores.  I hadn’t run long since my marathon in mid-April. But seriously how much fitness can you lose in 6 weeks?

Quite a lot, it would seem. 

Having intended to run a half marathon this morning, I stopped on the return leg at 10.9 miles, not even rounding up that last bit – figuring that walking the remaining 2.3 miles home in a dazed state was preferable to attempting to crawl 2.2 miles after regaining consciousness. 

I had done too much for where I’m at fitness-wise at the moment. It was hot. I was sweating buckets. It felt like I’d had a couple of pints (that bit was strangely quite nice). 

I was ok really and appreciated the lovely day, the lovely scenery, the family of swans having their swimming lessons… 

…but walking was definitely the right thing to do. I live to run another day.

Comments
  1. It’s amazing how early summer heat can effect your running, compared to all that training in winter for a spring marathon. Take it easy on building back up.

  2. I stumbled on your blog via Pinterest and see you’re also doing Juneathon, so I had to say hello and keep up the good work!

  3. Sam says:

    11 miles on an empty stomach is a good effort, if not a touch reckless! Walking was the right choice, too early in Juneathon to be utilising emergency services 🙂

  4. plustenner says:

    well done! 10 miles is more than I can manage .. even with having done an April marathon.. i am trying to think of how underwater tennis will work – you have invented a new sport!

  5. Running in the heat is no joke! It’s that annoying time of year where you have to get up ridiculously early for long runs to beat the heat. Saying that I much prefer summer to winter – at least you can see the road on summer mornings 😉

Leave a Reply

