Pyramid 180

Posted: June 7, 2015 in Juneathon, running
Tags: , , ,

Way, way back in Juneathon 2011 I used to write blog posts that I was proud of – ones that involved thought, effort, skill, wit and even artistry.

Ones like this one (click on me)

These days, though I figure I’ll just link to a previous blog post and hope that will do. In case it won’t do however, here’s a summary.

Saturday 6th June saw me wake early and head out before breakfast again for a quick run. No great distances this time though, but rather than just plod around, I did an interval workout using  Audiofuel which, if you haven’t come across it already is a website where you can buy coached music tracks. The basic premise is that you run ‘feet to the beat’ at varying speeds. I’m pretty sure you can still download a sample track to check it out. I recommend that you do.

I did the ‘Pyramid 180’ workout which is a little over twenty minutes in total consisting of a warm up, then gradually increasing periods (time and intensity) of sprints, followed by gradually decreasing efforts again, and a cool down.

I knew I would be able to parkrun yesterday as my son was playing in a tennis tournament. He won some he lost some, but his last match was won on a sudden death point after his opponent has fought back a 5:1 deficit to make it 6:6 (they play ‘ tie break sets’ to 7 points). He was very relieved he didn’t let that one slip! And it made the journey home much more enjoyable.

Today (Sunday 7th) I shall be heading to the WTA tennis at Nottingham Tennis Centre to compete with my son in a mini tournament running alongside the main event. That will be tomorrow’s blog.

For now, I shall leave you with this picture and the thought of biscuits, in case you didn’t click on the earlier link…

 Because running before breakfast makes you hungry!

(I remember it took me a while at the time and I don’t want it to go to waste) 😉

Comments
  1. abradypus says:

    Good luck today – take some Oreos to make sure you’re well fuelled!

  2. Sam says:

    Good luck in the tournament!

Leave a Reply

