B&B

Posted: June 21, 2015 in Juneathon
Tags: , ,

It’s Father’s Day today so I started by getting up early and running 20 miles…

  
…nah!! I had a lie in and was given breakfast in bed for the first time in a long time.

I went on to have a lovely day – I exchanged emails with my dad (I didn’t actually speak with him but he doesn’t really ‘do’ Father’s Day so he won’t mind) who had written a great short poem about being a dad… I just thought, I could share the poem here but would want to check with him first.

I played tennis (my Juneathon activity for the day) with my son and watched tennis from Queen’s …. Go Murray!

Then it was dinner with the in-laws, a game or two and then bath and bed for the kids.

Then I thought I’d check out the Randoms bag for today… 

 

So to complete a related exercise, I figure it’s time for a couple of bicep curls. 

Cheers.

______UPDATE EDIT _______

Dad has given permission for me to use his poem as long as I credit him:

Here is my own advice to dads; it’s all about deciding …

When to say yes
and when to say no
When to hold on
and when to let go
When to jump in
and when to lie low
or when to admit that you really don’t know.

When to reach out
and support should they fall
When to cheer up
when they’re made to feel small
When to build up
and to help them walk tall
or when to step back and do nothing at all.

And if you’re not perfect
it’s not really so bad;
Just try to be
a “good enough” dad.

© C.D Avery 2015

Comments
  1. winsometahn says:

    Hmmm, was that *really* a random choice?! 😉

  2. plustenner says:

    glad you had a good day – was rooting for Anderson though 🙂

  3. Shaz says:

    Fabulous poem Phil’s Dad

Leave a Reply

