‘Twas the day before the triathlon…

Posted: May 26, 2016 in Triathlon
Tags: ,

…T’was the day* before the triathlon…

 

…and all through the house,

there is a strange creature,

trying  hard not to grouse,

as he tries yet again to squeeze into a suit

that is made of a rubber as tough as a boot.

No suppleness,

no stretch,

little movement at all…

…I refer to the man – the daft ageing fool!

He thinks he’s still twenty (and of course he is NOT)

he’s in fact almost twice that and his body is shot

But despite his worn-out-ness he quite wants to show

that he could beat his time from four years ago:

Open water swim – 16:24

then add a transition (a huge 2 minutes more!)

Then a 20k bike – 40:01

then 1:18 transition to head onto the run…

…which was then  5k  – a PB in that year

at  23:46 … but he still hopes he’ll get near

to that total of 1 hour 23:28

he might get caught out with that time as the bait.

So I wonder, do you think he’ll improve? Will he worsen?

Will he ever stop referring to himself in third person**?

 

**Well… yes I will.  I just did. There you go.

I’ll keep you updated

 (*in fact two days to go)

   

( Photos from 2012 )

Read the original blog post here

Comments
  1. justinesq says:

    Good luck, soggy on a bike, my worst nightmare. By the time I’d blow dried my hair and put my face on, transition would be too long !

  2. RunYoung50 says:

    Swim strongly
    Bike boldly
    Run rapidly
    ….
    and don’t spend too long in transition
    Good luck!
    Katie

  3. […] ‘Twas the day before the triathlon… May 26, 2016 […]

Leave a comment