Body pic (2Jun13)

Posted: May 31, 2013 in Juneathon, running
Tags: , , ,

Various blogs (including this one today I’m afraid) include a set of measurements to publicly shame the individual into trying to alter them. To be honest, these measurements mean very little to anyone else but it they are there for reference and comparison, so I shall continue.

Juneathon often starts with great expectation of willpower, weight loss, and incredible gains in running speed & fitness.

Unfortunately, for various reasons, these often don’t materialise.
I squeezed into a tri-suit recently to waddle around a triathlon. Now, race pics are rarely flattering but I’m seriously considering printing some of these out and sticking them to the fridge door to scare me away.

Before I go on, I would like to make it very clear that I am grateful. I have a body that (more or less) works as it should. I can run. I can swim. I can ride a bike… ok, a terribly middle-class Center Parcs injury at Christmas has put paid to my badminton for a while but on the whole I still work.
If you are reading this and at the moment and you’d love to run but your body says otherwise, I feel for you.
I want you to know I am not taking mine for granted.

But that’s also kind of the point – I can do all these things, and I want to be able to keep doing them. I would be looking after my body and my joints much better if, when I force them to navigate a marathon in September, they don’t have to support as much unnecessary excess.

So… Onto the ‘Before’ and ‘After’ pictures… (I obviously don’t have the ‘after’ ones yet*) and yesterday’s promise/threat of that full-length picture of me without any clothes on…

20130601-224103.jpg

There you go.

And for those that found that a little too much to cope with, perhaps while eating food, here is a more tame ‘with clothes’ option…

20130531-152720.jpg

And the stats:

Height: 5′ 10″ (178cm)

Weight: 93kg (205 lb)

Thighs: R= 63cm L= 63cm
(Circumference)

Biceps: R= 38cm L= 36cm
(Circumference)

Waist: 97cm

Chest: 112cm

Muffin top: 104cm

(Muffin top = that bit above the waist where all the fat is squeezed to and due to its ageing inelasticity just sort of stays there, unaffected by gravity, like some cheap memory foam)

*You’ll have to come back at the end of the month to witness the no-doubt dramatic effects of daily exercise and healthy eating (which from past experience may or may not actually be visible).

Do you know what? Even if I have nothing dramatic to report after 30 days, doing the body pic was worth it because a certain little-miss was interested in what I was up to, and joined in as well…

20130531-152808.jpg
…which was fun.

Yesterday’s exercise: running, press-ups, sea swimming.

Today’s exercise (so far): 1 min Max effort press-ups and plank (to failure) + free-weights session.
I’ll go out for a run later too and update the log, but I’ll post this now anyway.
Still feeling good.

Comments
  1. Shaz says:

    Great idea but would have to go to staples for more paper if I was to do this!

  2. I hope Juneathon has a positive affect on both our bodies! Is that notmuchofasleeper with the curly hair? Very cute!

  3. Tubontherun says:

    Have you considered submitting your definition of muffin top to OED? I think it’s probably one of the most accurate (and guffawable) descriptions I have read.

  4. ewoodeson says:

    Love the before pic. Much better than a photo!

  5. I second the comment about defining muffin top – beautifully put. Will look forward to the stick man drawing on June 30th.

  6. Drawing around me after I’ve come in from a run would look like one of those crime-scene chalk lines round a body, with arms and legs at weird angles! Not a pretty sight I can assure you.

  7. henniemavis says:

    Tho unmistakably titillated by your nekkid self, I much preferred your little pajama’d partner! Up with curly-headed girls who love art & don’t get enough sleep! 😉

  8. blackandtabby says:

    Great idea – and good to put measurements as well as weight. I found after marathon training I had lost just a tiny bit of weight, but my muffin top was a bit more toned than it had been. result!

    • Oh yes. Most important. To establish that absolutely no change to any part of my body will occur in 30 days of healthy eating and exercise – I have low expectations (but I’m secretly hoping for different outcome).

  9. RubySneakers says:

    Thank you for the clothed alternative (much appreciated, I was almost clutching my pearls). Great idea, and all that’s missing is the duck pout.

    ps – love that ‘little miss’ got so involved. Very cute. 🙂

  10. […] I found >>this old blog post from 2013<< in which I tried to do similar and took a few measurements. I’ve summarised the main […]

Leave a Reply

